Stuck in the comfort zone...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak » Pulau Pangkor
April 24th 2006
Published: April 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

JohanJohanJohan

Daily intake of chillin' on the hammocks. Nice Shades by the way...
Well I'm still here on Palau Pangkor... stuck really. I was supposed to leave last Friday and what...? We're Tuesday I think? And still I keep telling myself "tomorrow". There really is not much to do on this island. It's so laidback, adn the locals are amazing. I can say that I've done absolutely nothing since being here. I met some great people, Bio "the island's shaman", Netty "the young vibrant one", Johan "our Swedish pirate: yarrr! - are you ever gonna leave this island?", Ralph "Switzerland", Audray "fellow French Canadian", Adeh "the Malay rastafarian", Rosie "the Vibe TV Addict", and the list goes on. It's not that there's anything too special to this island, but I'm just in that comfort zone now, and I can't seem to leave and I know I should be as my days are withering away before leaving for China and no more beautiful beaches! I know I know, soon, soon, I'll leave. I gotta be back in Bangkok by May 17th, to head to Macau.

The place I'm staying at is away from the beach nestled by the island's jungle in a little A-frame hut. I figure if I stay here more than 7
Netty & INetty & INetty & I

Then hammocks... again.. just can't get out of 'em!
days the rent is cheaper so why not? We wake up late morning, all huddle in the common outdoor room all sprawled in our hammocks, reading, drinking coffee, listening to Vibe TV thanks to Rosie, somehow get up and get some brunch from the local food stall, then I usually hit the internet cafe, go for a swim on the other beach up the road, lounging wiht the monkeys and floating around in the most buoyant water so far..... just floating away. Then I head back take my shower, cover myself with my medicated cream for this friggin' rash that won't give, but it's somewhat better I think, nothing I can't handle, just trying not to scratch.. LOL. Then lie in the hammocks again, go for late dinner, go back to Nazri's (the cottage), start having some beers, play traditional Malay board games (I'm hooked!), chatting away, then off to bed between 2:30am - 5:00 am. Yes, OUCH! it's been a very lazy time and late nights, but all worth it. I know I must say goodbye soon, but I'm trying, I really am! Maybe tomorrow.... ;o)

So many weird things happening around here... I've so far been introduced to Chi Gong, Reflexology, visited Bio's jungle house where it is said to be haunted, which the following night was on TV for this haunted house show in Malaysia, drank sea cucumber oil (supposedly good for my skin, but definetly not good to taste.. YUK!), visited a whole bunch of abandonned seaside houses.. (how can these people not live in them , they're gorgeous!), been proposed to... sorry Bio... had many off the top conversations with the local Malay rastafarian... you're one of a kind Adeh! Cheers to you my friend! Had my moments of deep reflexion on topics with Johan... you're a great soul, keep doing what you're doing and live it to the fullest, good luck with those marriage proposals too.. LOL. Anyway I could go one forever, but this is the gists of what has been going on here. I wanted to write about it earlier, but I just did not know what to write about really, so this is what I have come up with. Anyway, all is good, I'm relaxing and spending too much $$$ on beer! LOL but you only live once right? LOL. I missed out on a homestay on the mainland with Johan and some other Finnish guy (Shakir) that left yesterday to another locals house. I'm told they only invite a few out of the thousands that come around here yearly. Oh well, I feel like I'm at home here with them anyway. They definitely make you feel welcome here.

That's it for now, maybe my next entry I'll be somewhere else, but who knows... ;o)
A bientot!

Advertisement



24th April 2006

Have fun
Yes you do live only once ... Remember to enjoy every moments it's not like you will go back anytime soon after that great experience. It's great to read your stories, keep writing talk to you soon
26th April 2006

Hey.sounds cool the place you stayed..can give me the contact no ? zi_yun@yahoo.com..thanks
11th May 2006

Somewhere between two shorelines
As the floods and tides gives you great diversity and oppertunaties, make sure, when you're finished diving and surfing, washed up by the shore, you have learned how to swim better. Many people think they know how to swim, and will never want to get out of their own backyard pool. I know I'll sea you soon again, stemp-a-knee! Selamat jalan!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb