High not dry


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
June 7th 2006
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Home for a weekHome for a weekHome for a week

This was my shack on the island. 5 bucks a night, critters included.
Ok well I guess this could be a long one. It's been a while. I left Kuala Lumpur I don't know how many days ago and headed for the magnificent Perhentian Islands. The weather was great and I think I got the best tan ever. But that was basically it....hanging out on the beach. The internet was outrageously expensive so I got some catching up to do now.
The first day on the island I ran into Mark and Amber, two Canadians I met on the beaches of Cambodia. That was cool cuz they had a huge group all getting together for supper that night. And there was a 'Pirate Party' on the neighbouring island so we were going to dress up like pirates and head that way. I spent about half an hour throwing together a really unimpressive pirate costume. I had a bandanna, a pirate patch made out of electrician's tape, and a parrot made out of balloons which I sewed onto the shoulder of my shirt.
It rained. So we had our own little pirate party at a restaraunt on the beach. Hopefully Mark emails me some pictures from that night, it was pretty hilarious.
All divers who
Another beach sunsetAnother beach sunsetAnother beach sunset

I had a great barbecued Spanish Mackerel for supper after this.
read this are going to think I'm an idiot, but I didn't do any diving. Just snorkelling, and it was pretty uneventful. Some people saw sharks and turtles and stuff in the area we went, but not "ol' good luck" Scotty. I think it would have been cool to dive the ship wreck off the island but I was being really cheap with my cash. I stayed in the cheapest place: The Rock Garden Chalets. Sounds nice? Nope. I had to shit and shower with lizards, and I found a huge spider in my guitar case. There were huge monitor lizards roaming around. I saw one about 5 feet long and nasty lookin'. I thought it was a Komodo Dragon. There was a huge-ass one that people compared to an alligator, at least two meters long and wider than a person. It freaked alot of people out.
There were no ATMs or anything and I was unsure how long I'd be staying, so I decided if I had enough cash I would dive. But dang man that just didn't happen. I did play some beach volleyball, which I strangely enough really enjoyed. Since when do I like volleyball?
Now I'm
SupertanSupertanSupertan

Yep, it was hard work laying on the beach to earn this suntan. Sorry about the semi-nudity. Especially since it's male semi-nudity.
in the Cameron Highlands hanging out with 2 Canadian girls. I met Rhiannon (from Cape Breton) on the island and came here with her, then met Sarah from Ontario on the bus ride. I don't know the elevation here but my guess is 'pretty freakin high'. It's cold. And we're staying in old British military barracks from WWII so not living it up too large. Such a drastic difference in temperature! It's nice not to have to drink six liters of water every day. The only thing to do here is watch movies in the guesthouse restaraunt, because it's been raining like crazy. We got soaked a couple times trying to do some little hikes and stuff. Yesterday we walked to a tea plantation and bought some tea. I did a crappy little tour of the factory there and saw how they roll and dry and sort the tea. Kinda reminds me of work at the WIT, only the workers got to wear sandals and no hard hats. We also had a mostly dry day today and took some candy and markers with paper to a village to give to the kids. Now I have no idea where to go
Tea.  Boring?  I know.Tea.  Boring?  I know.Tea. Boring? I know.

This was at the Boh Tea plantation. They used to pick all that by hand, but now they use machines.
but I think it'll have to be somewhere dry. I'm leaving tomorrow morning!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Smells like WITSmells like WIT
Smells like WIT

The tea dryer, run @ 180 degrees, I noticed.


7th June 2006

miss you scott. i moved out of your apartment. i miss you scott.
9th June 2006

Holy Shit!
That's the first thing that came out of my mouth when i saw your tan...i'm jealous, but i'm working on mine on the great beaches of White Bear Lake i'll send you a pic of me, but give me a couple more weeks i have to look somewhat similar to you.
9th June 2006

Hey scotty too hottie, I love the fact that you're staying in the same room that we stayed at in the cameron highlands, did you awake one night to hear someone jacking off? yah lindsay did. and we had a perpetual sleep farter too, it was pretty gross. anyways, you're lookin studly, I like the longish hair, have a rocking time, ps you should go diving down in Bali, hear i rocks.
9th June 2006

I'm sorry, just have to write another sine I just realized that you're still wearing the same undies from when we last left you. How are they not rotting off of you???? boys are so gross. i think it's also wrong that I know this.

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb