Island where some of South Pacific was filmed


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Pulau Tioman
February 28th 2013
Published: February 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I crossed the country to the East coast and ferried to the island of Pulau Tiomin.

Some footage of it is claimed to have been filmed here for South Pacific (1958!!!!). Well for me it has been spoiled. If you were going to the super resorts at super prices I am sure it is lovely. Many young people come to get their PADI open water certificates - I would tell them to go to Tobago - it was nicer there! I was spoilt by by stay on the beach in Thailand... I swam every day out to the pontoon and had a very relaxing time. It also happened to be to be the worst accommodation I had stayed in the whole trip, so left a couple of days early to go to Singapore, so travelled on Monday.

Quite a trip to get to Singapor. Bought a bus ticket from the port of Mersing to the centre of Singapore for about 3 pounds which involved:

2 hour bus ride

change to local bus

change to bus that took me to Singapore immigration

Very nice building and grateful for the air conditioning but a long way to carry the backpack

Finally, found where I had to get another bus to the bus terminal in Singapore


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

My accommodationMy accommodation
My accommodation

Did not enjoy this room at all
Where I normally ateWhere I normally ate
Where I normally ate

Right on top of the beach and the waves were really noisy!
Fruit batsFruit bats
Fruit bats

Will need to find out - but one tree full of them


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb