Coolness and Tea


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands
March 8th 2011
Published: March 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have been in Malaysia for a little while now. I have been complaining about the humidity since my first moments in this country. The heat and humidity in Penang seemed to pack more of a punch then in previous locations. I was unsure of where to next but once I heard about the Cameron Highlands, I was sold. The highlands can be found in the mountains of central Malaysia. It is home to jungles, rolling hills, tea plantations, and pleasant cooler temperatures. I was looking forward to the cooler temperatures, the pleasant backdrop, getting into the mountain air and getting to see more of the Malaysian countryside.

I am going to be short winded about this part. Denise and I took a shuttle bus up into the Cameron Highlands, enjoyed two rainy days of beautiful fresh air, cool days and cooler nights. I caught up with my best travel friend, my guitar, and we mingled under the shelter of the cafe roof with the pitter patter of raindrops tapping the tin roof above. It was more like a timeout from travel. A timeout from the usual hot and humid days. I did little but play guitar, watch the clouds and mist move around the hills and valleys, enjoy food and ponder about why there happens to be a Starbucks in a small town know for its tea production.

On the second day we joined a four wheel drive tour that took us into a tea plantation and into the Mossy Forest to see the rainforest and the plants that reside there. The green rolling hills of the tea plantation are a wonderful morning sight and I enjoyed the Land Rover Defender and our guide Malaysian Rambo (can't remember his name) who was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. It seems everyone in this town drives a beat up old Land Rover truck. Blue doors, red hoods and exposed metal box sides with a load of tomatoes on back, careening down the mountain side. A wonderful sight it is.

We drove up a narrowing mountain road with Rambo telling all sorts of tales and info about what we did or were going to see. He was excited to share his country with us. It is nice to see a tour guide who puts big effort into their days. As most guided tours do, this tour took us somewhere cheesy, a butterfly farm. I am a grown man and on that fact I decided to not participate in looking at butterflies. Instead I drank coffee at the cafe and ventured across the street to talk to the man who had a few goats. I got to feed one of the little goats. Feeding little goats is a much more noble of an event then watching butterflies in cages. I chased fireflies and butterflies when my mom still dressed me in the morning. Yes, I do feel to old to enjoy butterflies.

The misty mornings, afternoons and evenings of the Highlands were interesting to see. The sky blue in places, cloudy in other places and dark in others. It was nice to get out into the countryside of Malaysia. The air crisp and cool making a refreshing treat for my little lungs. Time moved slow here, the temperature refreshing and pleasant, the locals friendly, and the guesthouse people provided some good conversations too.

The only dilemma I had in this peaceful place was the reoccurring question of “Where to next?”My number of days are wearing thin, only a few days til I am to be on a Europe bound flight from Kuala Lumpur. I decided on another national park, the Taman Negara for a day or two. It was easy, the shuttle van would pick me up at the guesthouse plus I did want to see more of the countryside. I guess I am going through a lazy patch of travel. The Cameron Highlands full of natural beauty but boring to write about, enjoy the pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb