Kuala Lumpur Doompadee Doo


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kuala Lumpur
June 26th 2010
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Animals!!!! 67 secs
2: Escape Gopher... 95 secs
3: Iguanas like Lettuce 80 secs
Another hotelAnother hotelAnother hotel

Another pool
NOTE 1: If you are wondering what is with that title, it is actually a parody of the Oompa Loompa Lyrics.
NOTE 2: Sorry about the quality of the videos. My camera is actually HD but travelblog doesn't seem to support HD


Getting there...


Day 3 cont.
It wasn't a very long journey to Kuala Lumpur. We took AirAsia which even though being a budget airline had a very wide range of food available. The flight only took about 40 mins so I only listened to 2 songs on my iPod before the "Electronic Devices Off" sign lit up again. When we arrived it was raining and since it was a budget airline they didn't have a SCW so, we were handed umbrellas (genius wasn't it?) and walked through the rain into customs. We had a very friendly customs guy who spoke to us about the World Cup (Football- or Soccer for Aussies). It was weird because usually customs officers are really unsociable and suspect everything you do is a reason to arrest you under suspicion of terrorism.

Definition of a SCW ( suctioncaterpillerwalkway ) : A round rectangular prism that connects to usually the front
The Twin Towers in KLThe Twin Towers in KLThe Twin Towers in KL

Superman Stance go!
door of an aeroplane for the passengers to step onto and walk through to the terminal.

Sooon after, we took a bus to the train station. I was amazed at how fast the trains are compared to Brisbane's trains. It zoomed past nearly everything in sight except for the stations. There were some pretty weird station names as well like Putrajaya Cyberjaya. Eventually we did arrive at the train station and took a taxi to our hotel.

We checked in as usual, went to our room and I checked the TV channels. This hotel thankfully had some good channels like Disney Channel and BBC News. Then we went out for dinner into this market place and went to the restaurant my Dad goes to every time he comes here. I was adventurous and tried out deer meat in noodles. The deer actually tasted pretty good. I also had a MILO (For British people it's chocolate powder you put in milk) which surprisingly you can get anywhere in Asia.

After this, as usual, we went back to our hotel and went to bed.

Full Day Safari


Day 4

NOTE 3: A safari was not undertaken
As is the normal routine of just about any person on the planet, we woke up and had breakfast. We then took a taxi to the Petronas Towers. As usual we took some pictures, the first thing a tourist does, then the second thing a tourist does, they see if they can go up it. We actually could go up it, to the Skybridge, which is half way up, but they had sold out of tickets. So we went to the park to look for some monkeys.

We walked and walked and walked and did not find any monkeys 😞. They did have a cool playground with a pool. There was also a Lookout Post that had a single pole that was the only way of getting up. I managed to climb it and was the only one up there which was pretty cool. After playing around in the park for a bit we decided on going to what I called "The Pointy Tower" as a substitute.

"The Pointy Tower" is exactly as it's described. It's a tower, with a point. Its actually called the KL Tower and it's the 5th highest tower in the world. It's about 500m tall and you can see all of the city when you're up there. We wandered around up the top for a bit and then went down again. When we bought the tickets you could buy either of 2 packages, and we chose the adventure package.

The adventure package includes an 'Animal Zoo experience', A pony ride and a ride in the Formula 1 Simulator. We went into the 'Animal Zoo' first and it was AWESOME!. Outside there were some chipmunks and gophers. The chipmunks did not sing but they did run up and down in their cage all the time. They looked like they weighed as much as a feather. The Gophers were very weird. One was sitting in the corner depressed and the other was doing everything it could to try and get out. This was outside the 'Animal Zoo', we hadn't even gone in yet.

So we took a look at the animals, lots of fun, then went and had some lunch at the Rainforest Cafe. I had a huge chocolate milkshake and Rainforest Bolognese (Spaghetti pretty much). After lunch it was time for the pony ride. Since you had to be lighter than 50kg my Dad wasn't allowed to go on it, so I used his ticket to get a longer ride. It wasn't really that much fun since the pony only walked about 15m before I had to get off again.

After this we went in the F1 Simulator which wasn't any different from an XBOX with a wheel accessory and surround sound but it was cool anyways. Then we went on the rainforest walk but did not see any monkeys 😞. We took a free shuttle bus service down the hill to the monorail station and took the monorail to the shops where I took a look in the computer section. All the shopkeepers kept saying hello to me and clearly subliminally messaging me to go to their store. I obviously picked up on this and blocked these telepathic messages. Then as usual we went back to our hotel, walking this time.

For dinner, we went to the hotel's 'Seafood Night' dinner. I ate a lot of Pak Choy, some fish, lobster, Thai curry and roti canai. I also had some Wintermelon soup which my Dad misread and told me to be Watermelon soup - which after looking at it I felt disappointed and corrected him. For dessert I had Chocolate cake and marshmellows dipped in the Chocolate Fountain. Then we went to bed.

Last Day


Day 5

I woke up at 8am and turned the TV on. I watched a bit of BBC world news to find Obama talking about the "ROCK SOLID" relationship between Britain and America. I then watched some reviews of movies and some iCarly before going on the computer. I went on Facebook and Youtube, saw the new video "Charlie the Unicorn" then went to breakfast.

I had some Noodles with soup, croissants and some orange juice. We went and checked out soon after and went to the shops to get me some sunglasses. The cool thing about KL is that all the shops that sell a specific thing are grouped together. The funny thing is everytime I went into shop then left, they would reduce the price by roughly 50%!e(MISSING)ach time. So by the time I had walked into the store twice the price had gone from 70RM (Malaysian Ringgits) to about 20.

We walked past a lot of these stores with each person saying hello to us every time. In Malaysia I have noticed that everyone is very casual as if they know each other and they treat you with respect. In the shopping centre, I was keen on getting a bluetooth headset to listen to media with my iPod and computer. So I looked around for a while and found one.

Now before you read this remember this: I had never bought and item other than food in Malaysia. Now I was enthusiastic to know what the product's specifications were. And the guy was obviously very eager to sell it to me.

My dad was busy trying to get away from the situation but the guy persisted in trying to sell to us. He then eventually, since we were his first customers, (at 2 in the afternoon), said that we could have one of the devices for free. So we eventually bought them but it made us late for the train for the plane. So it was a mad rush to get a taxi to the airport to get to the plane but we made it. Or did we........


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



28th June 2010

Kuala Lumpur
I can't wait to find out what happens next! Biting my nails here!!! I hope you are happy with the devices the man sold you. Look, listen, smell, taste, enjoy!
28th June 2010

Kuala Lumpur
Hi Liam! I am really enjoying reading your travel blog and I can't wait to hear what happens next! I hope you are happy with the divices the man sold you. Not having been to those parts of the world myself but only heard other people talk about it, it's very interesting to find out different experiences they have according to age, gender and interests. I am sure you will have a lot to add to your own world with different visions, sounds, smells and tastes! Enjoy!!!
28th June 2010

Escape gopher
You should put that on youtube
29th June 2010

Kaula Lumpa
Great piece of Gonzo writing (your Dad will explain!) and good to hear that the donkey weight allowances are strictly upheld. Over here, my train home from work was full of people returning from Glastonbury. My train was cool for once!
1st July 2010

AWESOME!!!
Hey Liam, Your trip sounds so cool! I wish I was There with you. It would have been cool if you got the tickets to go the Sky Bridge thingamaboby, and by the way you looked so enthusiastic on your 'big boy's Pony ride' (just kidding!LOL). Have lots of fun, say hey to your dad (and the monkeys)and stay safe meaning don't go creating bombs, teasing animals and all that normal stuff you do =) Can't wait for the next installment Keep Bloggin' to your pal half way across the world, Celia =)
1st July 2010

Re:AWESOME!!!
Hey thanks for reading. The pony was awesome. Thanks for minding the guinea pigs aswell. Next post about Penang will be tommorow

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb