Back in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
June 25th 2010
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Catch cheating spouseCatch cheating spouseCatch cheating spouse

A good business idea?

Going to Singapore


Day 1
The trip to Singapore from Brisbane was really fun. Instead of going on a cramped ugly aeroplane I went with Singapore Airlines which I am happy to say is my favourite airline ever. I watched a lot of TV including How I Met Your Mother, The Simpsons, Double Take, Mitchell and Webb and The Middle. I also watched the movie Marley & Me. Every passenger had a cable for watching iPod media and charging their device, a USB port for looking at media stored, and a powerpoint.

Arriving in Singapore


Day 1
Seven and a half hours later we arrived in Singapore. It was very hot but thankfully the airport was air-conditioned. We collected our bags, got our passports stamped and ate the complementary mentos. From there we took the MRT (Mass Rapid Transport) into town. You will be suprised to know that the Escalators are much faster in Singapore than in Brisbane (or anywhere else that I've been for that matter) and this is why I appropriately named them MRE or Mass Rapid Escalation.

Outside the station was Saint Andrews Cathedral and a very strange billboard for a private investigation company named Catch Your Cheating Spouse. After pondering if I should take a photo and make it my Facebook profile picture we went into our hotel and checked in. I immediately noticed the pool and went to check it out. I discovered a transparent glass wall and from behind it I saw the water of the pool. There were also many other cool things around the hotel such as a piano which plays itself and a big round couch sort of thing (I don't know if thats cool or if its just me!).

So we checked in and checked out our premium room (it turns out they didn't have enough economy rooms so they gave us a premium one but I could hardly see the difference). I leaped to the TV almost immediately and checked what channels we had. There were about 26 and roughly 10 were in English. Since I wasn't bothered enough to go through every channel all the time searching for English I wrote a list for reference. There was a kids' channel but it only showed Chuggington which wasn't even in English. Still it was quite funny hearing these characters speaking in some random langauge I didn't know.
The hotel poolThe hotel poolThe hotel pool

Me checking its depth


We left to eat and instantly got lost (Well I wasn't lost because to become lost you have to first be in a place that you recognize and is remotely familiar don't you?). Then we saw this guy vomiting. We walked across the river (not literally stupid, using a bridge) and over to Boat Quay. The annoying thing about walking across Boat Quay is that everyone wants you to come to their restaurant and they hassle you badly. I had a thought of bringing a tazer with me and zapping everyone who comes up to me. Twenty minutes later I was eating this dish with Chicken and Rice and some tasty soup. I also requested some Dim Sums. After trying one I decided they were made of paper and stopped eating them. I think the dim sum place had a crappy cook.

We went back to the Hotel and went to Bed.

Full Day Ahead


Day 2

I was awoken at 5 am due to my alarm on my watch, which after waking up at 5 the day before to catch the plane, I had forgotten to turn off. I went back to sleep and woke
Some building...Some building...Some building...

Can you see a weeping angel?
again at 8 when I actually got out of bed. I then had a shower and went to have breakfast. I ate 4 pancakes with maple syrup, about 10 potato wedges, a glass of orange juice, some bacon, a piece of French toast (yummy) and some Watermelon.

We then set out to go to the Merlion one of Singapore’s great icons. Upon getting there we took a few photos as usual, pondered for a bit, bought some cold water (ahhhhhhh! ☺), did some more aimless pondering and then went to the Singapore Flyer. The Singapore Flyer is a very large ferris wheel, with fish at the bottom.
NOTE 1: The fish weren’t actually on the ferris wheel rather just under it in a pond
NOTE 2: There were also some turtles in the same place as the fish, SEE NOTE 1.

From the ferris wheel you can see quite a lot and when you get to the highest point you are 168m from the ground. It takes roughly 20mins to do a cycle (although the announcement said 30mins) and about 15 people can fit in a carriage (well theoretically about 50 can fit in but I’m using the
Cool buildingCool buildingCool building

But what is it?
personal space happiness standard). You can also have a private dinner in one of the carriages but I don’t see how you can have dinner in 20mins.
NOTE 3: I refer to dinner as a three-course meal comprising of an entre, mains and desert, with drinks throughout.

We then traveled back to the hotel had a swim then went out to eat. I had Mee Goreng served on a banana leaf, which in turn was served on a plate. Now to my favourite part of the day, going to Sentosa Island.
My understanding of Sentosa Island: An island theme park that is awesome!!!

We traveled by Monorail (although we could have taken the Skyrail) to get there. The first thing we did was we went and looked at the huge Merlion statue which you can also go up, right to the top. After this we bought our tickets for The Luge and The Skyrail. The Luge is basically like a downhill go-cart track. You control your Go-Kart by turning with a wheel and braking by turning it back and it automatically brakes upon release of the wheel. It is solely powered by momentum and this is why it
The Singapore FlyerThe Singapore FlyerThe Singapore Flyer

Just about at the top
seemed so hard for all of the newcomers (and some second-comers) to actually move because they were too afraid of dying (blah blah blah) and kept braking. I personally went as fast as I could and overtook many old people.

When you finish the track you are left outside the Skyrail which takes you back up to the top of the hill. This is why you purchase the tickets in packages e.g. 3 Luge Rides and 3 Skyrail Rides. We purchased a 3 Ride package and after we did this we went to the beach. It didn’t have any surf but it did have a suspension bridge that went to another piece of land that had two-wooden towers from which you could look out at the sea. It was also the Southernmost point of the Asian Continent.

From there we went back to our hotel then went out again and had dinner. We took a taxi to Lao Pa Sat, a food market in the shape of a starfish with live music playing in the middle. Me and my Dad had Chilli Crab and Fried Rice. Then we went back to the hotel and fell asleep.

Last

Catching the skyrailCatching the skyrailCatching the skyrail

..up to the luge
Day
Day 3

Today I woke up to the light in my face and immediately stuffed my pillow to the window, closed the curtain and went back to sleep. I then woke up a second time at 10 past 10 (in the morning) and realized I had missed breakfast. We went down, me feeling unhappy because there would have been pancakes at breakfast, but discovered it was still on but with only 5 mins to go until they started to clean up. I quickly took some hash browns, French toast, bacon, orange juice and watermelon and started eating. Sadly they had ran out of pancakes.

After this we checked out, and my dad forgot to take his credit card. The receptionist ran after us and got to us before the lift door closed thankfully. After this scenario we took the MRT into Orchard Road, which is the biggest shopping street in Asia. It was pretty cool. There were shopping centres 6 stories tall. I went into an Apple store called iStudio and took a look around. I also went up a very long escalator that seemed 30 metres long. From there we went to get some food and I came across a Nerf tournament, which I have never seen before. They had all the newest guns and were selling them quite cheaply. My favourite was the Nerf N-Strike Deploy featuring 5 bullet cases, reassembles as different weapons, tactical rail support and laser pointing.

After drooling at the supreme awesomeness of these guns I then went and ate my lasagna. This was the last free time we had in Singapore until we went to catch our plane to Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia. So we took a taxi back to the hotel. The taxi driver stopped outside the taxi rank to wait for my Dad to get the bags from the hotel. I then told the driver where our bags were and he drove round the corner to the right spot. My Dad collected the bags and ran straight past our taxi. When the taxi driver called he just said he already had a taxi. I eventually had to get out and call him and he realised we had moved. I was RITSL-ing (Rolling In Taxi Seat Lauging). We finally got to the airport.





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



25th June 2010

Brilliant, well done, Liam keep 'em coming
25th June 2010

Hi There !
Sounds like you and your dad are having a fantastic time ! Thanks for taking the time to share it ! Best Wishes Pauline x
26th June 2010

Singapore
Very interesting and entertaining again Liam! I am very much looking forward to the next instalment. Irmeli x
27th June 2010

Notice of Liquidation of Assets
Hope all is well. We have sold your laptop, your WII, Xena and Kreem and spent the profits on a LOT of pizza. There are a few slices leftover. Would you like me to freeze them for you?
7th July 2010

singapore
what a great holiday. I dont know what i am doing mor whether this will reach you. Love to both of you/

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb