The Mekong


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 14th 2010
Published: February 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I woke up several times through out the ride to Nong Khai. It was my 1st experience on an overnight train. It was interesting to fall asleep in the hot, humid night of Bangkok and wake up to the crisp, cool air of Nong Khai. Stepping off the train at the Nong Khai station, i was greeted by many thick jacketed Tuktuk drivers all offering you a ride to the Laos border. I went with one of them, tossed by backpack on his Tuktuk and he sent me off for 20baht. He quickly made a stop at a local travel agency who would prepare Visa forms for you. He had a slightly disappointed look when i told him i did not need a Visa to get into Laos as i'm from Singapore.

A signage at the custom says this 'Leaving the Kingdom for gambling is probably not safe for your life and property. The Thai Authority will not be available to assist you.' A pretty firm warning i say. Crossing the border was easy. Between Thailand and Laos is the Friendship Bridge. Much like the Causeway between Singapore and Malaysia. I took a mini bus across the bridge not knowing i could have opted to walk across it. After crossing immigration, i saw more thick jacketed men. I stood there in my t-shirt and linen gaucho and went up a van with 2girls from Czech and a gentleman from the States. which would send us to our respective hostels. The driver looks lost as i show him the name of my hostel - Dork Champa. He re-assured me he knows where it is on the way. The gentleman got off 1st and we got to this travel agency where the girls wanted to go. He then told me to get off the van as my hostel is just near by. He gave me vague instructions like 'Turn left and then right' and drove off. I followed his directions and found myself no where near Dork Champa. Dork Champa is suppose to be found between 2 temples and there were no temples around me at all. I continued walking down the stretch of road for awhile before checking with a local where Wat Chan is. The lady was unsure but pointed me to another direction. Another 15minutes walking in the general direction the lady pointed to and another stop of asking where Wat Chan is later, a girl finally said 'Wat Chan? You staying at Dork Champa?' I was excited that finally someone has heard of Dork Champa that i squealed 'Yes!' 5minutes of walking and i arrived at Dork Champa. It was then that i realised that they have changed their name to Intha Hotel. At 15USD/day for a double room with an en-suite toilet the room was faultless!

A quick rest and a shower later, I stepped out of the hotel and walked towards the Mekong River. Vientiane is indeed the most laid back capital I have seen. A couple of high rise scattered around, few traffic lights and no mall within my sight. Standing by the Mekong with the cool air around would be great if not for some construction that was going on right in front of me. As the night drew, several vehicles pulled up to the Mekong and locals started setting up their stalls along the river.

I walked up to one of the make-shift food stalls and sat down for dinner. I was a little disappointed that many of the dishes in their menu were classic Thai food, perhaps due to proximity. I ordered a Lao Lap with chicken, the only dish that was distinctly not Thai, a bottle of beer Lao and a serving of sticky rice. Beer Lao is great! It’s not too gassy which is how I like my beers. Having sticky rice takes a little getting used to. And the Lao Lap was…… well interesting. It reminds me very much of the Thai Basil Chicken but with A LOT more basil and A LOT spicier!

Vientiane at night is slightly livelier than she is in the day though still having that quaint charm of its own...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb