Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

VientianeVientianeVientiane

Restaurant on the Mekong River.
Vientiane is the capital city of Laos. It's pretty boring for a capital city. Most of the travelers that we came across advised us not to spend much time here, but we decided to spend one full day to check it out. So this morning Maren and I woke up early and went to the Talat Sao market in hopes of some good shopping. Instead we found aisle after aisle of gold jewelery and plenty of knock-off purses and shoes. I was grateful, because I left the only pair of tennis shoes that I brought along in Northern Thailand and the weather in Hanoi is supposed to be a bit cold. So, I got some knock-off Pumas! I've always wanted Pumas!! And the knock-offs really are just my style. Maren got her usual, a pair of Converse. So after wandering around the markets for a while I decided to sit down for my first cup of coffee since being in Southeast Asia...I know, you probably don't believe me, but really, it was my first one! It was delicious. And amazing. And I'll probably get another tomorrow.

After the market we went to a Scandinavian Bakery that Maren was clearly very
VientianeVientianeVientiane

Mekong River in the dry season.
excited about and had a nice lunch in the park while reading our books and taking in the sun. Mom, I'm reading 'Eat Pray Love' by the way...I thought you'd be happy to hear that! :-) Before too long we met back up with the boys. Maren and Bryan went their separate ways and Cameron and I decided to see the sights. The sights didn't turn out to be very appealing, so we quickly decided to go bowling instead! We did see one site along the way, which is a large statue in the middle of a roundabout called, Nam That Statue. There was a lady walking around it placing and lighting incense. We took some photos and kept heading towards the bowling alley. I bowled horribly...I think it's because I miss the Wii. It was fun nonetheless and we spent the rest of the afternoon and into the evening wandering around the city.

Cameron and I went out for a nice and cheap dinner. We split some fresh spring rolls with a spicy peanut sauce for dipping. Then we split a cucumber, tomato, onion and yogurt dip with garlic and cheese nan and onion nan. It was a
VientianeVientianeVientiane

Nam That Statue
delicious and filling dinner costing us 43,000 Kips, or $5.10! Laos has been a great adventure, even Vientiane, which we did not predict. But now it's on to Vietnam, which we've heard from many fellow travelers is the best part of Southeast Asia! Only good to come...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb