Vientiane, Laos Different Perspectives Newsletter August 7, 2008


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
August 7th 2008
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Vientiane, Laos


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Laos School Teacher 53 secs
Dear Patrons,

Welcome to our news letter. The Staff at Different Perspectives try to bring a clearer picture of current events effecting China and Asia. Although we believe the international media driven primarily by the western world's interests, is bringing the public events as they happen, we at Different Perspectives are independent and non biased without an agenda for prestige or monetary profit. We simply feel the western world may be somewhat isolated from news that is local to our office here in Beijing, China.

We hope you enjoy the news from a different perspective. Please contact us with your questions or comments. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you
Different Perspectives Staff
Edward


Thursday August 7th
Saysouly Guest House
Vientiane, Laos


I was so grateful that I had the opportunity to rent a motorbike and get away from the “TR”. I felt an instant sense of freedom. Having a little experience with a motor bike
in Chaing Khong, Thailand helped me feel comfortable on the streets of Vientiane.

Curiously I picked up a pamphlet for COPE at the travel agent where I booked my Cambodia passage. It was the only pamphlet the agent had out, and it was exactly the type of activity that I was interested in. With a few scattered directions in my head from the agent I was off to COPE on my motorbike, a short 2 km from my guest house.




Finding COPE headquarters without too much trouble I was welcomed with a smile and a good afternoon by the motorbike parking attendant and thought this was going to be a good day! Walking into the complex I noticed a wheelchair or two leaning in a corner.

Quiet and peaceful the complex didn’t appear to attract too much interest. Adjacent to where I was walking there was some activity in a large building that appeared to have a basketball court in it. Sounded like a game of quadriplegic or paraplegic wheel chaired residents was just finishing up.

Walking curiously a few steps further I noticed the COPE exhibit building ahead of
me. I walked in as 2 other, I think an Americans followed. I was greeted with a friendly smile in the reception area. On the walls were pictures of the history of COPE, the meaning of the foundation and a wall with signatures and pictures of donors. Also T-shirts and gifts with COPE logos were available.

I introduced myself as an American and my need to explore the history of my birth countries involvement in the bombing of Laos during the US/Vietnam War. The 2 American women that were running the exhibit understood.

Entering the exhibit hall I was first impressed by the size of the hall and the number of exhibits. In front of me was a large hanging display made of authentic UXO’s (unexploded ordinances) that of course had been defused.

To the left on the wall started a line of framed pictures what the a UXO looked like when they were digging it up and how the local village people used the scrape metal to make household items. From the larger bombs they built canoes and ladders.

As I scanned the wall I asked an attendant (they offer a free very informative tour) if there had been any recent injuries from UXO. She pointed to a framed report on the wall reporting an incident in January 2008 in which 4 Cambodian children were killed and 5 injured from a UXO.

I found it hard to accept that 30 years after the end of the war innocent civilians were still being maimed and killed by bombs left over from the selfish conflict. I felt somewhat responsible for my birth countries irresponsibility, aggression, fear and greed in trying to force through war, western principals on Vietnam.

In a small viewing room adjacent to the main exhibit hall I sat and watched video of an Australian group that is contracted through the Laos Government and international humanitarian organizations to seek out and defuse UXO’s. I found that there job will last years since at present time much of the country is still infested with UXO’s.

One of the statistics that I read was that parts of Northern Laos was bombed more than any other area in history. The United States went to any lengths to retain control of their empire unfortunately at the expense of innocent 9 and 12 year old children.

What I did not see when I was too young to understand, when the western media was reporting for its own agenda regardless of the real truth, I saw here. The truth of what had happened in SE Asia, and what continues to plaque the people of Laos today.

Solemnly I walked back across the parking lot reflecting on what I had just experienced. Glancing again across to the wheelchair basketball court, I ahead slowly toward the parking attendants post to retrieve my motorbike.

SOME NUMBERS TO REMEMBER:

In excess of 260 million-Estimated number of sub-munitions (bombies) from cluster bombs dropped over Lao PDR by the United States Military between 1964 and 1973.
30% - Estimated failure rate of sub-munitions under ideal conditions.
78 million - Estimated number of sub-munitions that failed to explode.
387,645 or 0.49% - Number or percentage of estimated unexploded sub-munitions destroyed by UXO LAO from 1996 to April 2008.


Pulling out into the traffic I had a few hours of sunlight left so decided to motorbike south out of Vientiane along the Mekong River. Again enjoying the freedom of getting away from the “TR” and being on my own, I felt a part of the South East Asia society around me. Riding a motorbike just like everyone else, it felt great.

Cruising down the dusty road, buses, motorbikes and makeshift vehicles plentiful, my eyes wide open taking everything in, the Mekong River slowly coming into view.

I passed the Thailand-Laos friendship bridge, which spans the Mekong River linking the borders of the two countries. I took a quick cruise around the border crossing to check it out. One of the benefits of riding a motor scooter I found, is I’m treated more like a local than a tourist, or a foreigner. That can eliminate a lot of stress.

Continuing south I stopped to snap some pictures of the beautiful Mekong River sunset to the west. Tourist boats from Vientiane in the foreground. Beautiful in their lighting and presence with the sunset, but what a most wonderful experience I was having looking from this perspective.

I noticed a group of Laos's men sitting at a table on the shores of the Mekong, chatting and having a few beverages. Down the bank toward the river was a fisherman finishing up his day. Mending his nets, I struck up a conversation with him and asked if he had any experience with the “giant catfish”.

He said he didn’t but held up his catch for me to snap a picture or two. I was in heaven, after almost 2 weeks on the “Tourist Route” I was finally back with the wonderful people of SE Asia. I was a happy camper.

Time to look for a bite to eat, I stopped at a local sidewalk diner. Being the only white person for miles, or so it seemed I got the stare from the locals. Within moments a middle aged gentleman approached me, introduced himself and asked pretty straight forward “what I was doing here”.

I was at first intimidated, and a little nervous, especially after he told me that he was the local government official…..and a school teacher. He suggested with some authority in his voice that I accompany him around the corner, so he could show me his house.

Before long I was on my motorbike again following my new friend down the dirt alley
beside the restaurant toward his home. He welcomed me into his open plan 1 story dwelling with a least one bedroom off the main living area, a decent sized kitchen area.

Sitting on the corner of a sofa a young boy about the age of 10 stared up at me with curiosity on his face as to who his father had brought into the house. In the meantime a voice came from outside the house of a young woman with a smile, bringing my helmet to me that I had mistakenly left at the restaurant. I was being taken care of even in the southern outskirts of Vientiane, Laos.

Out of the corner of my eye over in the corner of the room a young combed her long black hair in front of a mirror. Standing there it seemed she looked into the mirror throughout my whole visit without turning around.

The man’s son sitting on the couch and his daughter standing in front of the mirror, he offered me hot water as a beverage as we discussed our lives for a few moments. He a middle aged school teacher in at least 2 schools in the village for most of his life.

I a middle aged man, exploring and learning about other cultures in the world after a career of typical proportions in America.

An hour later I was traveling north on my motor bike with the Mekong River to my left and village lights to my right, the sun nearly setting ahead of me, reflecting on my mind full of amazing experiences, I headed back to Vientiane to prepare for my departure for Cambodia in the morning.
_____________________________________________________________________

Next time on Different Perspectives join me as I travel to Phnom Penh Cambodia, a city of stark cultural contrasts and the history of a compassionate people and Country caught between warring factions for decades.

Please join me, until then…….

“Those who accept that we all die someday settle their quarrels.” From the dharma scriptures, given to me by my Buddhist friend hnin hnin yu on my visit through Mandalay,Myanmar.

Edward
Different Perspectives

patent pending c2008






Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb