Vientiane and last day in Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at a decent time having no excuse to sleep in (had an early night).

Wondered down to get my plane ticket to Phnom Penh in Cambodia which was easy enough (cost me almost a million and half kip! - which works out about 70 pounds.)

Then for the first time in ages I went to the house of fruit shakes for some breakfast and a fruit shake. The mango shake came very quickley but I had to wait ages for the cheese and tomato toasties - I think they were trying to toast the bread with sunlight.

Afterwards I had a wonder down to Pha That Luang which is Laos national monument and supposidly has a bit of buddas breastbone burried beneath it. The walk there was tough due to the incrediblr heat but I was stuborn enough to refuse all the tuk tuks that came past. Pha That Luang is brilliantly gold (paint only Im afraid) and you can see the sun reflecting off of it from quite a distance down Th Lan Xang. I spent a little while wondering around there before haggeling a good price for a tuk tuk back to the centre (required me to walk away again with the dude chasing me in his tuk tuk!)

Got a lift down town then spent more time in an internet cafe burning my photos to cd.

Then stopped for at a place for some lunch.

Went back to the guest house and repacked my stuff for tomorrow.

Went to check out a dvd/vcd shop but didnt get anything.

Not too sure what I did for the rest of the afternoon.

In the evening I went to the bluesky cafe for some dinner and a movie (Xmen 3) this was all entertaining but after the movie I did leave the cafe with a rather bad stomach (the movie wasnt that bad, surely.)

Next thing I know Im hit with a rather nasty piece of food poisoning (I thought steak sandwich would be safe but maybe the salade got me.) Anyway Im up all night doing all things that you tend to get with food poisoning (vomiting ect). Although at one point I did stupidly try to take some imodium which resulted in me rolling around like john hurt in Alien (stomach felt like an alien was about to pop out of it!) hissing under my breath "kill me," until thankfully I threw it all up. Felt better after that and at 4.30 fell into a deep sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 81; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb