Vientiane - Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at seven and some how had slept through my alarm but running only 30min late so not that much of a big deal.

Today I'm due to take aplane to Cambodias capital Phnom Penh. Last night with all the food poisoning fiasco I had considered missing it but today apart from bad stomach and being very tiered I felt like I could do it (could be worst could have been going by bus.)

Slowley got my stuff together, checked out and grabbed a tuk tuk. The fresh air did me a bit of good and we got to the international aitport (about the same size as southampton airport) in 20min.

When through the hulabalo you go through when checking in for flights. An hour later I was on my way to Cambodia with Vietnam airways. Despite being nowhere near lunch time they still offered us food which unfortunatly I had to decline.

Arrived in Phnom Penh and it was 32degrees. You normaly have to pay 20dollars for your visa but all I had was Lao kips which the immigration officer was at first reluctant to accept but did when I paid him an extra 30,000 (3 dollars). This worked out in my favour as when I tried to change my remaining kip (only 6 dollars worth) they wouldnt except it as the currancy is so unstable.

Antway picked up my bag and left the airport. Straight away there was a chap onto me offering 2 dollar ride to the guest house. Figuring it wasnt that much and feeling drained I accepted. He took my back and we walked straight past the taxi rank (ok we're riding on a tuk tuk or something) and then we walked straight past the tuk tuks. We suddenly stopped just infront of a scooter. So to my amazment my "driver", myself and all my stuff were wisked off into the mayhem that is Phnom Penhs traffic........on a scooter. Im not the best passanger at the best of times but it was a little frightening. I mean the way he zoomed in and out of traffic across traffic....bugger. He cemented my fear when during a little chit chat we came on to the subject of beer. "Do like beer?" he asks in broken english.
"Yes" I reply," how about yourself?"
"Me too, infact I had way to much last night"

We got there in one piece, thankfully. I checked in. The room wasnt any thing to write home about but the reason I did take it was because the bed was the softest Id felt since arriving in Asia (all the beds seem to br made of concrete over here.)

Drained I went straight to bed for 6 hours. Got up having an urge for chocolate chip cookies (a bit of a strange one) and watched days of thunder before going to bed again at 9:30.

Advertisement



25th May 2007

Cookies
Are you sure the cookies only have chocolate chips in them!! I hear other thingsthey add are a bit more addictive!
26th May 2007

Ah "Days of thunder" - another Cruise "classic".

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb