Last stop Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
February 20th 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The trip down to Vientiane was another saengthaw but we didn’t break the record for the number of people in it this time.

Vientiane is a funny city - it is the capital but it didn’t seem at all together and there didn’t seem to be a particular centre, it was all broken pavements, open sewers and road works and there would be one bar on the road, another restaurant on the next street - no atmosphere I thought.

I wasn’t there for long but did the Lonely Planet walking tour on the first day where I went to see the Laos version of the arc de triomphe (sp?) which had a very funny plaque describing itself as a monster! There are lots of temples and I also went to the morning market which was a covered market and sold absolutely everything - the food section was always interesting!

Day two I got a local bus out to Buddha Park - this man liked Hinduism and Buddhism so he built loads of sculptures from the two religions and put them together in this field - it was quite surreal and I had a chat with another monk who was taking a break from his revision! I had a bit of a wonder around and then headed back to the city to see the most famous Wat in Laos - it is the one on the front of the Laos Lonely Plant guide book and it certainly was very impressive because it is so big and so gold! I think the guidebook describes it as looking like a cluster of missiles!

I didn’t have long on that day because I had to catch a bus to Danang in Vietnam - one that I was not looking forward to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb