Day Off


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
June 27th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Met someone from Amersham yeasterday?! I was also in a wedding, sadly it didn't work out and they got divorced this morning 😞 So much to show and tell properly when I'm home already 😊 I'm currently watching re-runs of Friends and eating noodles 😊 x

Went out at 12 today but I left Q-bar within an hour and took a boat and a tuk-tuk back to Central Backpakers. Too much sun and not enough water had got me beat and I gave in. On the way, one of the many Irish boys we’ve met here offered to join me so I wasn’t on my own when we realised we’d been on the same sleeper from Bangkok – which I really appreciated as the boys had asked if I could make it on my own. Which is fine considering we’d only just got there, it was quite far and I didn’t have any drink in me. Also, they’ve both really looked out for me and I knew the way, better get used to managing without them anyway. Spent the day with a bottle of water and my kindle, curled up on the tile floor of the balcony overlooking the town and we had a lovely time. What’s really bizarre here is they as you go out at about 1 in the afternoon, you always end up needing to come back by about 8. Even if you last or go back out after something to eat, everything starts to close at 11 and by 1 in the morning, you can’t even get a taxi. So we are 6 hours ahead in time and at least 7 or 8 hours ahead in addition for hitting the bars. Here you collect your bracelets, play every game that can be thrown together from what you can find around – beer pong, giant jenga, volleyball, you name it. You dance in the rain, swim and crash out on mats in the sun when you need to take five. Slept all afternoon once the boys and our friend Catherine were all home safe and woke up at half 9. Knowing we hadn’t eaten for a while we managed to motivate each other to head downstairs and out for some street food. On a hot plate, familiar from creperies and French market stalls, you can have any hot baguette fresh for you, they are so good and bigger than my head. They even have laughing cow cheese, so bizarre. That and too many cans of orange fanta and we called it a night.

Thank you and goodnight x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb