LAOS-VANG VIENG-10-0508


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
May 1st 2010
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

LAOS-VANG VIENG...
Back in VT, my last day in South East Asia (SEA)...
Yesterday, Three of the hotel staff and I headed to Vang Vieng for a day...
Veng Vieng was interesting, in it that the nature is quite beautiful, kayaking a couple of hours thru the river and the mountains in the back drop made for a picturesque and delightful experience. But there is this tourist element that I found, I am short on words, weird...There are these riverfront water parks, mainly accommodating the Farang (Foreign) tourists where they drink, dance, zip, swing, and dive, and tube with their beer bottles in hand, half or fully drunk thru the river...I found it surreal...People stay here for days, I can not imagine doing that...I did not find the scene very serene...A days trip was quite ok with me...The car ride back t o VT in t he dusk, took me to a nostalgic road. The events of the past year and my life ran by me, where I came from, where I was, and what the return home held for me...



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb