Vang-Vieng


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
July 20th 2006
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

24th Jul 2006
Southern Laos

Hi everyone.

I'm still doing good having a great time.
after spending 3 days in Luang Prabang (not enough time). It is one of the cities with that real French feel to it. The architecture and food (French bakeries). All the people were extremely nice.

Took a 6 hour minivan ride through the mountains, like I said before just amazing. The driver did not want to stop to let us take photos his only stops were for a smoke break. His smoke breaks were a goodthing(gave him a chance to move around a bit). Riding on these mountain roads I thought the biggest hazard was mudslids or falling rocks. No, I was wrong. Its your driver falling a sleep. I was sitting up front with him and noticed before the first stop he was yawning and his eyes were closing a bit. I tried making conversation with him but he doesn't speak much English. The first time we stoped in a village I purchased 4 Ice coffees (like ice tea, but a lot more caffeine). The next time I noticed him getting tierd I gave him one of the coffee. He thought this was the greatest thing. by the end of the trip I had given him all four coffees All of us in the van were relieved to make it to Vang Vieng alive.

Vang Vieng is a backpackers playground. They have tubbing, kayaking, hiking, mountain biking, rock climing, caves to explore. A lot of guest houses, restaurants, and bars (including Happy Bars). the first morning that I was there I rented a scooter and headed back up the mountain road we had come from so I could get some of the photos that I missed. I put on about 230km in a 5 hour span. In the afternoon I took the relaxing 3 hour tube ride down the Nam Song River. Picking up a beer once and a while at the shore side bars along the way.

Today I arived in Paske a quiet little town in Southern Laos. After taking a overnight bus from Vietiane and before that a 4 hour bus ride from Vang Vieng to Vietiane. I'm going to stay in this region for a couple of days. I have booked a flight from here to Hanoi (Vietnam) for Friday.

I hope every one is doing well.

Cheers

Tim




Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Gridlock in LaosGridlock in Laos
Gridlock in Laos

I saw more cattle on the road then vehicles.
Me and BeerlaoMe and Beerlao
Me and Beerlao

The Best Beer in Asia.
Best Beer in Asia.  -   "Beerlao" Best Beer in Asia.  -   "Beerlao"
Best Beer in Asia. - "Beerlao"

Does anyone agree with me?
Friends Bar - 24/7 "Friends" on TVFriends Bar - 24/7 "Friends" on TV
Friends Bar - 24/7 "Friends" on TV

There is 5 of these bars in Vang Vieng. also a couple "Simpsons" Bars.


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb