Cruising down the Mekong


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Pakbeng
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Our last 2 days in Laos were spent cruising down the Mekong on our own private long boat. It was just a great and relaxing way to finish this country. The scenery was beautiful, the food was fab (we had a chef onboard) and the overnight stop in Bak Beng was lots of fun! We boys from Venezuela even got us all dancing Merengue!

We arrived at the Laos border town just before the border shut so we crossed into Thailand and decided to drive late into the night (rather than stay at the border) and have a day in Chiang Mai before returning to Bangkok. I won't write a separate entry for Chiang Mai as we only had a day there. We got up early (the boys had only had 2 hours sleep, I was very impressed!) and went to Wat Doi Suthep temple which is on top of a mountain at about 1300 metres altitude. The views would have been stunning but we were in the clouds! It gave the temple a fantastic atmosphere though, We all lit candles and incense sticks, laid lotus flowers down and walked around the centre three times rigning the bells. We also got buddhist bracelets put on. All these things are to bring you good luck and it worked as I flew from Bangkok to Phuket yesterday, just a couple of hours before the flight that crashed.

I am now in Phi Phi where I am doing nothing other than relaxing and trying to get rid of a chest infection before I come home! I might squeeze in a massage too!

Well I will be home in 3 days, I can't believe it! Thank you so much for putting up with my drivelling and reading my blog! I will probably write one last entry when I get home.

Amy x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb