Ahhhh.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Luang Prabang has been one of the best parts of the trip so far. I think this is the longest I've been in one place so far, and it's been really relaxing and enjoyable. Our Australian friends Sebastian and Elle left today, they were going to Bangkok and then London. So I'll miss those guys, we've been hanging out since we came to Laos. And on the bus from Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang I met Dennis from Edmonton. He's a really cool guy and it's been nice to have someone who can handle a little guy talk. He plays drums in a ska band called General Rudie, and a jazz band as well. I've been sharing a room with him and I'm sure the girls love having a room to themselves again. And tomorrow Dennis goes to Vietnam, and the girls to northern Thailand, so I'll be on my own.
....Should be interesting. Ah, at least I know how things work and how to get around now. The only thing that sucks is paying for a room all by myself. It's been nice paying from $1.50 to $3.00 a night while sharing a room. Hopefully I meet some cool people that are in the same situation and don't mind sharing. Really the only time you're in the room is for sleeping anyways. I guess I still have around 19 days or so in the country and I'm not even sure where to go next. Transportation is the worst in these countries. If you're travelling 300km, you better expect a 6 or 7 hour bus ride. It really makes me want to get a bicycle and some saddle bags and pedal my way everywhere. I hate the bus! And the girls have like a 20 hr boat ride to get into Thailand from here so that sucks to be them.
I think I might go south again and maybe head for Cambodia next. I'm intersted in going to the Philippines too but I haven't checked out how much flights cost yet, and you can't fly there out of Laos. I would like to get there before the rainy season starts in April but I'm not sure if I can make it or not.
Anyways, yesterday the Aussies, Dennis, the girls and I went to see another waterfall and it was just a good day of fun. Us guys went swimming in behind the waterfall, then went downstream and climbed all the way back up the river. It was a blast but I must have touched a funky plant or something. I had an itchy rash on my arm but it's allready going away.
Luang Prabang has been nothing but fun for all of us, but I think I'll maybe catch a bus somewhere tomorrow or the next day. I haven't decided where to yet, but Laos has been great no matter where we end up!

Advertisement



23rd February 2006

Keep on man..
Hey, I'm in South Korea right now and I've been keeping up with your blogs as well as Lindsay's and Emily's. Sounds like a blast man, keep going and good luck...
23rd February 2006

wow
Well Scott you're having a really amazing time and even though I miss you lots I'm really glad you're out there. Reading about all your experiences is incredible and I'm really looking forward to hearing about more! You're really and inspiration, i'd never have the guts to do what you're doing.miss you *hugs* ~Jerks
23rd February 2006

AMAZED
I don't even know what to say. I am so glad to hear from you. That sucks that your camera got snatched, Joel says he knows how you feel. When I read the part about you being detained I was totally freaking out, I am happy to hear that everything went okay. Keep having fun, doing what you do. I love the hair, you look good. Miss you!
23rd February 2006

Be Careful
Hey Scott, Just wanted to say be careful by yourself, but i'm sure you'll find people in the same situation as you in no time...i finally figured out that you've been adding to your travel blog the whole time, i'm the idiot that just wasn't clicking next journal, so anyways it sounds like you are having a great time, missing ya. Take care, Alica
24th February 2006

Look at you going with your bad self!!
Just wanted to let you know that we have been thinking about you on our long, long, boat ride. Dont leave the country that way! The stop over had some serious rats. I bet you can just imagine us cowered together. Well I hope all is well and you havent put yourself into a alcohol induced stupor quite yet.. I mean with all of that celebrating after getting rid of us! At least we're not around to cramp your style with the Babeskis. Keep in touch and we are seriously missin having you around S Club! (I broke the glass..)

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb