My Luangprabang Trip - Part 2 (Day 1)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 25th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LPQ 2008-004LPQ 2008-004LPQ 2008-004

Another front view of LPQ Museum
Once we landed, I recognized so many innocent and sincere things.... starting with Lao language which is somewhat similar to Thai language but there are certain differences, both in terms of alphabets and the forms of vowels. Lao language is cute, I would say!!! It's difficult to describe in English, but for Thai people who read this I think you will understand. There were 2 Immigration lines, and the one for Thai people was very short... just 10 people or so.... The airport is somewhat like Phitsanulok airport 30 years ago... old, but cute and charming in its own way 😊

We hired a tour guide who can speak English for our group, since we started contacting a travel agent in BKK. The guide is a lovely young lady whose name is "Tuly", and she called herself "Lee". On the last day we were in LPQ we knew she was 20 years old, and was about to become a singer..... A star-to-be, we wish her that 😊 ... Her full name is "Bidarak" (Bida = father, rak=love)... we asked her if she knew the meaning and she said she knew it. ..... Very straightforward MEANING - and a lovely name...
LPQ 2008-005LPQ 2008-005LPQ 2008-005

Stop to buy some local food on the way to our bus to ease our hunger before dinner


The first stop was at the LPQ Museum which used to be the latest palace of the last King of Laos. We saw so many old things inside, depicting mostly the way of life of Lao people and their royal family members. The weather was sooooooooo hot that afternoon, as you can see from the light on our faces (photo LPQ 2008-002) which was taken in front of the museum. Actually we took all together from 4-5 cameras almost 1600 photos... of course many are almost duplicate. I only chose some photos that represent what I wrote...

Our next stop was to cross the road from the Museum to climb up "Phrathat Pousi". ......... I couldn't make it to the top, only half way or so, but I'd rather not go up further as I thought then that it would cause my team a lot of problems if they have to carry me back if I were sick - considering my "mass" *rofl*...... I only thought then that I would return again and make it next time when I come with Michael. This time I just waited for my bosses and my colleagues to come down, which took
LPQ 2008-006LPQ 2008-006LPQ 2008-006

The view of the lobby, The Grand Luangprabang Hotel
about 20-30 minutes, and an insect bite!

We walked a lot in LPQ, since they don't allow big tour bus in the town center. Dr David called LPQ a "Town of Steps". .... We checked in a "The Grand Luangprabang hotel" which is some few kilometers out of town center. The hotel itself used to be an old palace. Luckily the building where we stayed is part of the new buildings. The room is nice, clean, and cosy. The only shortcoming is when we are inside the room we can hear the footsteps outside when people walk passing by. So no wonder why Dr David told us once that he heard us coming back to our rooms as we had to walk past his room every time.

The first dinner was at a local restaurant called "Mee Xaiphone" -- That was the first formal Lao food for us. The food tasted OK, but the "Som Tum" was not the same taste as ours. Dr David and P'Phon drank dark "Beer Lao" so I tasted a little bit..... Just the same feeling for me, don't like beer!

The first night ended with shopping at "Night Market". Dr David
LPQ 2008-007LPQ 2008-007LPQ 2008-007

Aon sat waiting for checking in at the hotel
left first back to the hotel in a Skylab which cost him 100 Baht. First night I didn't buy anything as I was hoping to get 2 pieces of identical Lao woven cloth to make a nice jacket but I was targeting to get it at the last village. However, I bought a glass of "Lao Coffee" (as there is a small stand just opposite the Night Market) while waiting for the team to finish their first shopping. We ended up with lots of bags full of fabric products......... Many of us shopped like crazy, as it is normal for them (consultant life is spent in meeting rooms or at workshops - not enough time for shopping... haha :D). We didn't exchange lots of Lao money as Thai Baht is very welcomed there, but when they give you the change they will give it in Kips. While walking back to get on our bus we found Roti, and I just couldn't help myself... *yummy yummy*




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

LPQ 2008-008LPQ 2008-008
LPQ 2008-008

Aon at the patio outside of the Room 123
LPQ 2008-009LPQ 2008-009
LPQ 2008-009

First Lao dinner at Mee Xaiphone restaurant
LPQ 2008-010LPQ 2008-010
LPQ 2008-010

Night Market in Luangprabang
LPQ 2008-011LPQ 2008-011
LPQ 2008-011

Aon and Dr Kwang waiting for our rotis :p


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb