Savan


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Savannakhet
June 20th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

Rare sight, but there are a few
Geo: 16.4958, 105.756

This was a bit of a rash decision, when I left Konglor I basically got a jumbo tuk tuk out to the main road and jumped on a local bus for Savannakhet, the bus however was currently being fixed at the side of the road and although the journey should have taken 3 hours it ended up taking 5, oh well.

Although fairly uneventful, the scenery was lovely with mountains on one side and when you could see it, the mighty Mekong River on the other. I was told when to get off the bus (by several of the locals) but I seemed to be in the middle of no-where, I was directed to a minibus which I was hoping was included as I was way outside the city. Thankfully it was and it took everyone on board down to the main bus station in Savanakhet, I teamed up with two tourists who were already in the minibus and shared a tuk tuk to a cheap hostel which was great as it was 10:30pm and I didn't need the hassle of trying to find a place.

On my journey south and even once I arrived I was still giggling away
about my adventure at the caves, honestly the things I put myself through, I think I'm brave but realistically I'm not, I should really remember this next time but I can't seem to forgoe the challenge, (idiot that I am) well you need a bit of madness to be travelling like I am!

So Savanakhet is a very squarely laid out place right on the river which is easy to get around, I still find it strange that the other side of the Mekong is Thailand and there's another Friendship Bridge nearby for the border crossing. It's a very French colonial styled city which once again is very clean, there seems to be nothing out of place and no rubbish in sight which is lovely. It's not a huge place and realistically it only takes me one day to visit the temples, churches, museums etc. but it's a nice experience, I find the market also and enjoy mixing with the locals, the people here are lovely actually, being in Laos I've changed my opinion, I really didn't like it at first but I think I was just tired from the cycling more than anything else.

So it's a short and sweet trip
but a nice sidestep on the way back to Pakse for my bike.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Guest House ownersGuest House owners
Guest House owners

I love this picture
SavannakhetSavannakhet
Savannakhet

Outside church


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb