Crashing into Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Don Det
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well Well Well Laos is beautiful....

Tom went home and I stayed another night in Phnon Penh then in the morning started to make my way to Laos... Had the funniest journey on day one, I was the only western person on the bus and I sat next to this man of about 90 who cracked me up the whole 8-9 hours. I had no idea what he was talking about but was bloody funny. The scenery up towards the border was lovely all stunning country side with the odd shack scattered about. The journey didn't feel as long as it was at all. Then I stayed in a dodgy hostel in Stung Treng (think thats where it was anyway - Near the boader). Up early again the next day waited for the bus which of course was late having a tyre fix. After a wait jumped on the bus picked up few other people and headed for the boader. We was on the bus for about 10 minutes when there was a big bang the driver then lost control and we went flying off the road, I was sitting right at the front of the bus and seriously thought I was going to go through the window screen - I though please NOT MY FACE AGAIN haha, we are so lucky the bus didn't turn. But every cloud has a silver lining and all that.. Because of the crash I met a brilliant couple (Ben and Sammi) who I'm still travelling with now.

We had a brilliant time in Don Det, got very drunk due to the shock of the accident (and thats the only reason you know me not one to party). Hired bikes to the other Island Don Kong (can't spell sorry) where there is the most beautiful waterfull I have seen, went about 2km further to like a big rock pool and swam it was just amazing, I can't tell you how great this was. My camara ran out of batteries so I'll get them from Ben's camara. Spent 5 days in Don Det swimming in the Mekong which was turquise - LOVED IT HERE.

We then headed to Vientiane via Pakse on a sleeper bus - How good was that. Just sorting visa to get ack into Thailand here then heading to Vang Vieng - Very excited.

Obviously lots of things have happened but as usual I just quickly write my blog.

I will put some photo's on now and some once I grab them from Ben.

Bye Bye for now

xxxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th March 2010

Nice one.
Nice one, looks like fun!!
8th March 2010

Crashed and burned
Oh darling not again, so glad you didn't get badly hurt but your with good people! Are you doing the boat trip down the Meekong? Your photos are awesome, big love to you gorgeous xxxx

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb