Third Week in Kyrgyzstan


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Third Week in Kyrgyzstan
A lot has happened lately. Classes just started on the 15th. I’m taking 6 credits of Kyrgyz individually, 6 credits of Russian individually, and 3 credits of Central Asian history in a group. It is really helping to take the language classes individually, since I can really focus on areas I need to improve upon. My Kyrgyz classes are so hard though-my professor gave me about 30 words to memorize for the next day on my first day of class. Since the sounds are so different from any language I know, it is difficult for me to remember Kyrgyz words.
Outside of classes, I’ve also been busy. On Thursday we went to the biggest bazaar in Bishkek, the Osh bazaar. It was HUGE and had everything you can imagine from army clothes, to pomegranites, to car parts, to Kyrgyz traditional clothes. There were lots of Kyrgyz suveniers there too-I’ll have to stop by there before I leave.
On Sunday, I was also able to go on an excursion to Burana Tower. The trip was organized through my study abroad program, and I was able to meet two other Americans studying in Kyrgyzstan. It was great to talk with other Americans after only interacting with Kyrgyz for so long.
On the way to Burana Tower, we passed through Kyrgyzstan’s countryside. There were lots of people on horseback on the road, since most can’t afford cars yet. I also found the architecture interesting-much more attention was given to the homes’ exteriors than other homes I have seen in Kyrgyzstan. Many of the countryside homes were covered in mosaics, which shinned because bits of mirrors were used in them. We also saw about 3 mosques on the way, which is more than I had seen in Kyrgyzstan yet.
Borana tower is a huge tower located about an hour and a half from Bishkek. It was built in the 10th century. It was really cool to see it. We climbed up its ancient spiraling steps to the very top. It was pretty scary-the walls of the tower were right up against me, since the passage was so narrow. The only light came from tiny window slits in the tower. When I reached the top, though, I could see really far. There are very few houses in the area-mostly just a enormous snowy plain and mountains in the distance. When we climbed down, we toured a garden of stone figures and petroglyphs, which were made in the 5th to 6th centuries. When people were buried, the Kyrgyz used to carve their likeness onto the burial stone. Many of them are still well preserved. I also really enjoyed the petroglyphs. They were all pictures of deer, rams, and other animals.
I’ve got to go to class now. Hope everyone is doing well at home!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb