I arrived!


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan
June 23rd 2007
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello there! Just to let everyone who was worried know that I arrived in Bishkek completely safely, with no trouble at all. The taxi driver who got me from Almaty was even kind enough to take me home to his wife for tea before driving me to Bishkek; I must have looked absolutely exhausted at 5 am!

Anyways, will post pics soon (I do have a few), but Nazgul, the woman who is renting me a room, is waiting outside and I probably shouldn't keep her long. Bishkek is lovely and safe and everyone is very kind. I am, however, dealing with culture shock (quite difficult, actually) and am fairly emotional at the moment. I forgot how hard that is, esp in such a completely different environment. And I now completely understand the tradition of praying before meals; coming from the sheltered, no-fat, doesn't even resemble the animal it came from food, this is pretty scary!

Ok, so I'll write more later, but hope everyone is enjoying summer and also hope to hear from people if they get a chance 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb