Day 29, Election Results


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Bishkek
November 9th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 29, July 24, 2009, Friday, Juma

I awoke early this morning, even for me, around 5:45 as a kind of cooling breeze moved through the window in my room. I also heard Organgul moving around upstairs in preparation for her morning prayers. She is a traditional Muslim girl, who wears traditional clothing and covers her head with a scarf, but no veil. She has a very pretty face. But she also has some irritating habits, one of which is to do her ablutions in the sink in the bathroom that is shared with everyone on the first floor and to never wipe it down afterward. That means almost anytime you go into the bathroom that she has left a watery mess around the sink and on the floor. I wipe it up each time I go in the bathroom, but since she prays 5 times a day, maybe even 6 times, the place always seems to have just seen her presence and her watery mark is on everything. What I find really amazing is that the same thing is true of the Turkish boys and Emil in their houses in Houston. For some reason, it has just not been
Willow trees and FountainWillow trees and FountainWillow trees and Fountain

A fountain near the Zum dpartment store
a part of the training about their ablutions to wipe down and up after themselves.

I have no real plan for today. Marat is off to the Army barracks this morning to buy additional items and gear for his uniform. Apparently, he will move from being a private second class to a member of the officer corps on Saturday, when they will promote him to lieutenant. He will need epalettes for that and a new hat, I think. He has a very stylish beret that apparently needs a flag on the front of it, too.

Emil wanted me to go to the main mosque in Bishkek today for the mid-day prayers since it is Juma and there is sure to be a big crowd of people of every stripe and kind. I will try to talk Marat into going with me, since I do not feel one hundred percent comfortable taking it on by myself. But if I have to, I will catch a cab and get there to take some photographs, if it is not too intrusive. Actually, that is why I want someone with me. Sometimes taking photographs in holy places is okay, and sometimes it
Flower TopiaryFlower TopiaryFlower Topiary

A pyramid of flowers on a downtown street.
is not. I often feel I need a guide to the etiquette of each specific locale. I also think I have to wear long pants, even though others would be in what amount to the Muslim pedal pushers. Certainly no 67 year old will be in shorts or shortened pants. I also would like to acquire some appropriate head gear. A Muslim prayer cap would be a nice touch, and I could add it to my collection. For some reason, I never seem to remember to bring one with me. We will see what happens, inshallah I will be able to make it. I also need to find out what time it occurs, since I would need some lead time to get there. The mosque is located in an area that is a little out of the normal tourist beat.

I managed to have a shower and breakfast before everyone left the house this morning. The workman has arrived to continue the building project, yesterday he put in some doorways and windows of glass on the openings and put a roof on both brick structures. Organgul is baking bread in the outdoor kitchen, where it must be stifling hot
Central Mosque, BishkekCentral Mosque, BishkekCentral Mosque, Bishkek

The minaret and dome of Bishkek's Central Mosque
given the new construction. I am in the kitchen with the dirty dishes and about to have a second cup of coffee and begin today's reading of the Nursi in my room where I can turn the fan on me. The sky this morning is absolutely clear of clouds and a huge dome of blue sky stretches above us. It is so clear that I can see the mountain tops that ring the city.

Oh, the last news I saw before hitting the sack last night had Bakiev, the current president, winning the election by 67%. His nearest opponent, Atambiev, had about 20%, and the rest were not really in the race, including the character who promised every family a payment of 10,000 Soms, Nazarielev.

So far, no demonstrations or loud commotions in the streets. One could only hope for a little excitement in dusty Bishkek.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb