First Day - Something Something Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
July 4th 2014
Published: July 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We made it!We made it!We made it!

After almost 24 hours of airplanes and airports, I met with Naomi (left) and Mei (middle)!
I arrived safely in Tokyo last night!

Naomi and Mei, two of my friends from Carleton met me at Narita airport and helped me rent a phone. From there, we made our way back to Naomi's apartment where her family was kind enough to make us all dinner and give me a room for the night. I promised like twenty people I'd tell them everything I ate, so:

We had a Japanese version of a hamburger with daikon radish instead of burger buns, homemade miso soup, vegetables, and rice. I've already decided American food sucks in comparison.

In just a little while, I'm probably going to go down and see Shibuya, which is one of the places you've probably seen pictures of before (it's got the busy streets and all the neon signs). I'm sure I'll make it back later on the trip to get some pictures of the lights on at night too. After that, I'm off to my orientation, and then to meet my host family!

Until next time, here are some really crappy pictures I took while extremely tired.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Friends yayFriends yay
Friends yay

Naomi and Mei.
Tokyo StationTokyo Station
Tokyo Station

I suck at pictures, but here's the entrance to Tokyo Station.
Random BuildingRandom Building
Random Building

Japanese EVERYWHERE.
McDonald's AdMcDonald's Ad
McDonald's Ad

Even the ads are interesting now.
Apartment ViewApartment View
Apartment View

Who knew there was green in Tokyo?
Obligatory Arrival SelfieObligatory Arrival Selfie
Obligatory Arrival Selfie

Because I have no self-control.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb