My Driving-Vacation to Japan Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
December 5th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feeling like a Jetsons

Driving around Tokyo on the elevated ring roads reminded me of one of my favorite cartoon shows, the Jetsons. At about a twenty story building high, I was cruising at 70 km/h in my comfortable and confidence car. To my right, the view of the urban jungle landscape was whizzing by. When the traffic slowed down enough and I was in the thick of the urban jungle, my eyes wandered to the skyscrapers and caught glimpses of the people living in their penthouses.

Japanese Delicacy

I love sushi but I had never seen the stupendous selections of raw seafood till now. I am adventurous as far as seafood, but I could not get myself to eat a raw Conch. I would rather enjoy its empty shell as an ornament than to eat its flesh even if it were cooked. But according to my dare-devil food aficionado California native friend, this Conch sushi is heavenly. I took his words.

To my surprise, there was a wide variety of pasta dishes here in Japan. Had I never been to Italy, I could easily be led to believe that pasta was from Japan. Vegetable pasta gratin, a bed of fresh vegetable and angle hair pasta topped with melted baked cheese, was one of my many favorite Japanese pasta dishes. Okonomiyaki, seafood and vegetable egg pancake over fried noodle, was another one.

The foods not only tasted heavenly delicious, but they also looked very ornate. Japanese people take pride in quality and presentation. They go through elaborate preparation to ensure that the freshness, the individual taste and aroma, the seductive color, and the unique form blend together to form an ensemble of culinary delight...@driving-vacation

More pictures...






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb