Danjiri Pics!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
October 19th 2004
Published: October 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Finally! Here are the pictures from the Danjiri festival I went to back in September. Danjiri are these big wooden floats carved by each neighborhood and pulled by the men of the neighborhood. These floats can get up to some high speeds and since someone rides on top it can be very dangerous!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Scenic ViewScenic View
Scenic View

Just some scenery from Kishiwada, the city where Danjiri was held.
Hand Carved DanjiriHand Carved Danjiri
Hand Carved Danjiri

These Danjiri can sometimes take years to make...and they are just raced and crashed into eachother! >_<
Local Team!Local Team!
Local Team!

The local team readies for the pull
Night Time DanjiriNight Time Danjiri
Night Time Danjiri

The Danjiris looked so beautiful with the lanterns attached!
Cute Kids!Cute Kids!
Cute Kids!

The Little Ones in the Danjiri were so cute. Some were playing little whistle flutes and singing songs as well.


20th October 2004

Leah again
it's beautifull! i could see myself trying to scetch that and failing miserably >_< the hand carvings are amazing ^_^ there is much more to Japan then westerners think i'm also learning about Japan in asian art although no one in the class has ever been to Japan so this is actually good for more then just fun for me ^_^
22nd October 2004

I wish I was there
Hey Lizzie, Its Lissie, I love your pics...I wish I was there with you. It looks like your having a good time, I saw the picture at the club of you and crystal dancing. Its really good. anwyayz i just wanted to drop a line. I love you. Have fun while your there. Lisa
27th October 2004

Hey Girlie
Hey Lizzie, Its Lissie. I found you blog. yay!! Im so happy to know that your doing well. I hope you did good on your midterm. i miss you so much and I cant wait til you come back in May. Have a great time. Love ya lots. t2yl8r. Lisa

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb