First Day Off!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello Hello,

So, on my first day off I decided to go to Harajuku with one of the other Ariels. We did some shopping and I got my hair cut. It was a very exciting day. The next day I went to the Imperial Palace in downtown Tokyo and Shinjuku. The Imperial Palace was beautiful. There is a large moat that surrounds the grounds. Unfortunately, I was not able to actually enter the Palace because the emperor and his family still live there but I could see it in the distance. The area mostly consists of gardens and small temples. There were small ponds and beautiful flowers. I even saw huge Koi swimming around under the lily pads. It was very Japanesey.

After I toured the grounds of the Imperial Palace. I got back on the train on my way to Shinjuku. Shinjuku is a large shopping district in downtown Tokyo. It also has a skyscraper district where several observation decks exist. I went up to the 45th floor of the Metropoliton Government Building. It was unreal. It was a little bit of a hazy day but the view was still breathe taking. After I left the
The Imperial PalaceThe Imperial PalaceThe Imperial Palace

The Palace...
observation deck I went to a resturant for lunch. It was a very different experience because I ordered my meal from a vending machine. It was a little difficult for me to actually know what I was ordering but I did my best. I actually really enjoyed my meal. It even had octopus in it. Mmmmm tendicles. Anyways, after lunch I walked to the time square area. It was very busy. Hundreds of people crowded the streets. There were street performers and musicians all over the place. There was so much to look at and see. Every corner had something new and exciting to see. So, I wondered the streets for a couple hours just taking it all in. I really enjoyed myself and I will probably go back and search through it a little more.

On Wednesday, which is day 3 of my time off, I went to Tokyo Sea Life Park. It is a huge aquarium and sea life park. There were hundreds of different exibits to see. Everything from tuna to Jellyfish to Penguins. It was pretty exciting but I think I choose a bad time to go because I went when four different special
The Imperial PalaceThe Imperial PalaceThe Imperial Palace

The Botanical Gardens on the Palace Grounds
needs tour groups decided to go. It was exciting to see how excited they were to be there but also a little distracting. However, I made the best of my day and now I'm ready for tomorrow. I'm not too sure what I am going to do yet but I'm very excited.


Miss you heaps, Love ya!

Megs


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Imperial PalaceThe Imperial Palace
The Imperial Palace

More gardens...
Tokyo Sea Life ParkTokyo Sea Life Park
Tokyo Sea Life Park

Penguin Exibit!


24th June 2006

Wow
I like your haircut and the Imperial Palace looks great. I am so looking forward to seeing Japan with you and of course your show. Hope all is well and that you have a great break. Love you tons!! Mom
22nd July 2006

Love you guys!
looks like you guys are having a blast!!!! Really looking forward to being there with you.... Kelsey leaves in just a few days....WOW....the time sure blew by???? Love you guys! dad

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb