I'm Here!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
April 4th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Had a great dinner with K & R and enjoyed the visit (and meeting Gabe). An early night before heading to the airport early this AM for the flight to Tokyo. This is the budget portion of my trip for sure - with thanks to aeroplan for my fist class ticket on this 14 hour flight!

The flight went well, but I don't know how any one would survive it in regular class! Fed non-stop throughout the flight, and landed in Tokyo to a clear day at 4PM - 3AM canada time. Cleared immigration and customs before opting for the limo bus into the city. A slight difference in price over the train/subway, but in my bleary-eyed state, with it being rush hour and all, I thought this would be best. Narita airport is a good hour and a half from the city so it is quite an excursion!

The ticket seller and the baggage handlers for the bus line up and bow as it pulls away. The bus itself was quite luxurious with doilies on the seats! It seems that there are no menial jobs in Japan

Hotel is great, in the Higashi Ginza area. I sweated about choosing a place to stay here, and it has turned out to be perfect. Snug but spotless and in a superb area - highly recommend it for anyone travelling here. Great staff, and even a washer dryer combo in my room. I'll be here until Saturday AM when I leaave to join up with my small tour group for the next two weeks.

After picking up a few supplies at a local store, had the world's most anticipated hot bath before crashing. I suspect it might take me a few days to get adjusted to the new time zone!

Tidbits: Japanese toilets are an engineering wonder - the seat is heated as well! How civilized is that? Japan drives on the 'other' side of the road too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Room 2The Room 2
The Room 2

You can just see the tv/computer combo.


Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb