Heated toilet seats and automatic taxi doors!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

CRAZY TOKYO



So have landed safely... unforuntaly no pictures to put up as I left my photo cable in my bag in the airport😞


My trip has been an adventure so far.. Starting with trying to figure out the Tokyo subway and train system after a 10 hour flight... when it would be 4am in Canada time.. Fun. Finally arrived at the hostel in the nick of time, as reception closes at nine.. met some great aussie folk, went down to the 99 yen shop and got some plum liquer in a juice box and some beer. Realized you could drink on the street (and in the trains) so we casually strolled back. Then some time around 11 the fire alarm went off in the hostel.. and some time around 12 the firemen showed up (we could have totally been burnt to death by then!!!) And they cracked me up cause they either took off their boot or put on boot protectors before entering (cause you are not supossed to wear shoe in Japanese homes).


Anywho woke up the next morning bright eyed and bushy tailed and meandered about till stumbling into this unreal temple... Had some TACO Balls (octopus balls) and drank in my surroundings. This is when you get to see the sheer number of people there are here.. crazy really!! My next journey was to Harajuko known for the goth and rockbilly extreame fashionistas and crazy shops, plus an amazing park and shrine. And I have to admit it didn't let down. I started in the park/shrine and with all the leaves changing it was amazing, also there was a wedding going on to I got to see some traditional dresses, beautiful! Next I was off to the shops where I saw the goths and the rockabillys, as well as had to restrain myself from buying everything in sight!! Walking down the tiny road crammed with people I get tapped on the back because of my lululemon jacket, next thing you know I have met two fabulous Vancouver boys, one of them moved out here 8 years ago the other was just visiting. So we chatted a bit and I told them I was heading to Roppongi, and fancy that they were too!!


They were driving so we were off to find the car which can be a journey in itself, when we got to the parkade they told me to brace myself as I was going to see something truly amazing... and really it was, you put your parking ticket in a machine and pay then walk over to another door and in about 1 minute your car magically appears (well on a conveyer belt from the side wall) But to me it was like magic really, you put in a ticket and a BRAND NEW BMW shows up!! Yea I kinda hit the jackpot meeting those boys. We continued to Roppongi went to a sky deck and seeing Tokyo from the 52nd floor of a building really sets in how huge it is!!!! At this point I parted ways with my fellow Canadians and went to Shinjuku (where lost in translation was flimed) and it is the CRAZY lit up place, with more lights than vegas!!! At this point it was dark so I enjoyed the scene and wondered about, eventually stopping for some ramen noodles yumm!!! Then trudged my was back to the hostel, as the jetlag was starting to catch up!


All in all a perfectly evenful day!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb