Leaving on a jet plane... OKC -> Houston -> Tokyo -> Singapore


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

OKC -> Houston -> Tokyo

The route we flew from Houston to Tokyo actually went back north over Oklahoma and then followed the Pacific Rim along Alaska and Russia before coming back down to Tokyo rather than going straight across as this shows.

Continental Airlines Flight # 7Continental Airlines Flight # 7Continental Airlines Flight # 7

On a Boeing 777 from Houston to Tokyo, flying north along the Pacific Rim.
So... I'm off for my semester abroad in Bangalore, India. I'm nervous and excited and a ton of emotions all at once. I know that it will be exciting but it does sadden me to be away from the family at home and the friends in DC. I'm first headed to Singapore, flying OKC -> Houston -> Tokyo -> Singapore over the Pacific Rim. My classes at National Law School of India Univ. in Bangalore start in October so I will be seeing some sights in SE Asia for a bit beforehand. I'm not really sure where I'm going yet, but I'll keep posting updates. My most up-to-date activity information can be found at http://twitter.com/jaredASIA .

In Tokyo:

So... I just got off a 13+ hour flight from Houston to Tokyo. Continental Airlines Flight # 7. Not only is it probably the lowest-numbered flight I've been on but it is also the longest flight I've ever taken. The plane was a Boeing 777 and was quite nice. I watched "Made of Honor" with Patrick Dempsey and company... I only mention the star because I really don't care for him usually (i.e. in Grey's Anatomy) but he was really, really likeable
One of the snacks on the ANA flight to Singapore from TokyoOne of the snacks on the ANA flight to Singapore from TokyoOne of the snacks on the ANA flight to Singapore from Tokyo

It has shrip and clam in it but is kinda like trail mix... ewww.
in this movie. Maybe because I had been on a plane for 10 hours when I settled down to watch it or maybe he was just likeable... I'll decide later. I also slept through most of "Phantom of the Opera" (not that it isn't good, I just have seen it before and so I slept) and watched Ashton Kutcher and Cameron Diaz in "What Happens in Vegas" ... also pretty enjoyable, if not Oscar-worthy. Oh, and I watched an episode of Will and Grace (the one with Karen's sister Jen/Gin) and then two episodes of the New Adventures of Old Christine. Dang... I watched a lot of TV in addition to the two very-lengthy naps and two meals and one mid-flight ice-cream. All in all Continental did very nicely. We were on time and their inflight entertainment system had like 150 movies on-demand, 500 TV shows on-demand, and lots of music and games too.

Next, I will catch a 7-hour flight on ANA to Singapore where I will crash with my friend Paul from law school. I get in really late, just before midnight, and will be happy to have this 28ish hour journey complete.

I have pictures from Tokyo's amazing airport which I will have to post later. It is very peaceful and has a TON of designer shopping store, all duty free. The people have been very helpful and friendly and I love that their power outlets are shaped like the ones in the US... very helpful.

I'll update more later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

McDonald's in the Tokyo AirportMcDonald's in the Tokyo Airport
McDonald's in the Tokyo Airport

No, I didn't eat there.


18th September 2008

looong flight
I'm glad you made it, I bet you had fat ankles!!! Haha, love you, be safe.
19th September 2008

Wow!!!!
Glad you are safe and sound. I thought the trip from Rome was Heck, not compared to yours. I look forward to reading about your travels past and present.
22nd September 2008

28 hours????????
That is definitely a long travel schedule and one that I am sure you are glad to not have to repeat often. However, the percs of being in Singapore and India, I am sure, will be worth the trip and the semester of study....it will definitely spruce up the resume! sunny and 80 degrees at OC, with clear skies. Life is good and everyone is healthy right now..all families doing well. we miss you and hope to hear from you often...you are in our prayers for safety and great sight seeing!! sincerely, Bobbie

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb