More Picturesque Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow BridgeRainbow BridgeRainbow Bridge

from the Boardwalk at night
Monday was a relaxing, yet full day. We both slept in a bit, and headed out of the house by lunch time. After taking the train to the business area where Michi used to work, we stopped for lunch at this tastey pork and veggie place where Michi frequented while working in the area. The pork was light and fresh, and the veggies a good compliment. There was lychee for dessert, but not having seen it whole, I attempted to take a big bite skin and all. Apparently you're suppossed to peel the skin off, and eat the sweet, juicy inside. I figured it out eventually.

It was gorgeous day, so after lunch we took the elevator up to the 30th floor of the Densu building, the adverstising agency where Michi used to work. What gorgous views! It was right near the harbor, and I tried getting some shots from the public viewing floor, but it's difficult to capture how impressive it is. There is a kind of art exhibit on various floors of the building, showcasing 60-some chairs of famous design, mostly modern, which most of you know I love. We grabbed a couple photos - me lounging
Odaiba HarborOdaiba HarborOdaiba Harbor

from 30th floor of Densu building
on the Barcelona Chair, designed by Mies Van Der Rohe in 1929, my favorite modern chair design, of which I have a knock-off of at home since the real thing is way out of my price range. Next to it was the Eames Lounge Chair and Ottoman, designed by Charles and Ray Eames in 1956, another pricey, but beatiful piece.

We made our way down to the Harbor, the district known as Odaiba. There is a sky train, the Yurikamome Line, that loops around the whole area, allowing passengers to take in the archtecture of the surrounding skyscrapers. The train is automated, which allows tourists like myself to grab a seat at the very front of the lead car. A cool image with the track laid out in front of you winding through the surrounding buildings. The train loops around and then runs under the Rainbow Bridge, a gorgeous piece of engineering connecting the Odaiba harbor entertainment area with the rest of the city.

Michi had previously reserved some concert tickets with a friend, so after getting my bearings and agreeing on a place to meet, I was on my own for a couple hours while Michi attended
Rainbow BridgeRainbow BridgeRainbow Bridge

from the sky train
the show. I was a bit apprehensive at first, as I speak NO Japanese, and had some flashes of anxiety running various "what-if" scenarios through my head. I quickly told myself to chill, and knew I'd figure out some way to communicate when needed. Besides, the area is another pretty large toursist retail and entertainment destination, so the English/Japanese barrier was most likely a psychological one of my own. There are two huge, multi-level shopping complexes, and an inviting boardwalk along the water offering outstanding night views of the bridge and city. I had no problem keeping myself occupied, and didn't speak with anyone, just observed. Michi has been trying to encourage me to speak with locals, but I'm hesitant without her because of the the language issue. Yet another reminder that I really need to learn another language, like most people outside of the US.

Michi, her friend Izumi, and a couple others the names of which escape me, met up after the show, and just made it to a a great Suchi place before they stopped serving. We gorged ourselves on various fresh, delicious sushi, and headed for home with bellies contented. After another beer at home,
Sky TrainSky TrainSky Train

front row seat
we were off to bed to rest for the last few days of my trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Sunset ViewSunset View
Sunset View

from the harbor boardwalk
More TokyoMore Tokyo
More Tokyo

from the Densu building
Decks Shopping CenterDecks Shopping Center
Decks Shopping Center

one of the huge complexes on the water
Being SillyBeing Silly
Being Silly

Entrance to Arcade - my evil twin?
Shopping Center StuffShopping Center Stuff
Shopping Center Stuff

mock-up of traditional Japanese home
More Sillyness..More Sillyness..
More Sillyness..

Michi & I doing the photo booth thing
Sushi ExtravaganzaSushi Extravaganza
Sushi Extravaganza

fish anyone?


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb