A Grocery Store


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 16th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got Fruit?Got Fruit?Got Fruit?

Notice how clean and fresh everything looks. I know I was ready to eat a couple apples.
Today was filled with business-like meetings. We listened to seven superintendents, a House member, and a professor talking about the economy of Japan. It was important for us to hear and learn the information that was learned, but I won't take the time to place pictures here on this blog.

Afterwards though, I went for a walk and walked into a Japanese grocery store. In America, there are workers at the cash registers and behind the deli/meat counter, but there were workers everywhere. They were behind the counters like you would expect, but they were also in front helping you purchase what you wanted. Certain areas of the grocery store were pretty noisy as well. I hope to add the video of the two gentleman selling fish and the other gentleman cutting up just one section of a large fish. I wonder if it was a tuna? I don't know.

Appearance was also important. Their shelves and items looked spotless and very tempting to buy. I know a certain special someone who would have loved the box of strawberries, but when she realized they were selling for $52.00 I think a picture would have been fine.

I'm getting
Meat CounterMeat CounterMeat Counter

People are waiting to buy meat.
ready on Sunday to leave Tokyo with 19 other teachers and go to our host city. It will be in our host city that we will get to visit the schools and have our home stay visit. This experience is just beginning. I hope all of you are having a great week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Seafood CounterSeafood Counter
Seafood Counter

These two gentleman were working together helping customers package their fresh purchase. Again notice the appearance of the food, very appealing if you're into seafood. If you're not, just another neat thing to take a picutre of.
Fish CounterFish Counter
Fish Counter

Fish anyone?
Would Anyone Like a Strawberry?Would Anyone Like a Strawberry?
Would Anyone Like a Strawberry?

I'm not sure for what occasion someone would buy this box of strawberries for over $50.00, but they sure look good, don't they?


17th November 2006

Strawberries...
Yes, those strawberries do look very appealing. Much better than the fish heads! But you're right....for that price, I'll pass. :) The pictures and videos are great!
17th November 2006

Commendations to the Commentor!
Jeremy, your Travel Log is so informative and interesting. I am so glad that you are having this experience - and thank you for sharing it with all of us. I look forward to your comments each day. Best Wishes - Corinne
17th November 2006

Fishy
How about bringing us home one of those fish roasts from the video.
18th November 2006

If only it would fit in my luggage
Did you see the size of that fish? It might be bigger than me.
18th November 2006

Thank You
I'm glad you're enjoying this blog. It takes a little time to get it done, but hopefully I won't keep you waiting too long for each day to be updated.
18th November 2006

Look's exciting!
Jeremy, It looks like so much fun. I know you are having a great time. Can't wait to read more. Happy Thanksgiving!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb