Day 154: Korea Town, Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 28th 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My life has become a whirlwind of drinking, dancing, celebrities (both minor and major) and a unique blend of Korean/Japanese fusion. And I owe it all to Lucy.

She took me out with her Korean friends the other weekend and after hours of booty shaking and raising the roof we were making our way back slowly to the station when she stopped and grabbed her friends arm

"Oh my god" she said urgently "It's Tablo"

"Where?!" Nicky cried back excitedly before catching sight of the short Korean singer on the street

"Oh my god!" they both cried "Tablo!" "Tablo!"

Tablo turned around and waved at our posse and I decided to get involved in the action

"Tablo!" I screamed waving my hands "Tablo, I love you too!"

Tablo gave me a startled look and then waved back uncertainly before departing with his friends to wherever they were going. Probably some wild korean celebrity party with drugs and beautiful semi-clad women. Wow. I didn't actually know who he was but I was still totally in awe. The power of celebrity.

We were still talking about the great Tablo incident when we went out tonight with Micchan, our dance teacher from monday who's also korean, and in the dancing world a bit of a celebrity in his own right.

We went through Shinuku and to the streets below, where the writing stopped being Hiragana and started being Hangul and the accents around us started to change from the up and down rhythm of Japanese to the soft flowing gentle bubble sound of Korean.

We settled into a restaurant and started talking about all things wonderful; from dancing to food, culture to lifestyle, we steadily drank and ate our way into a near coma and practically rolled out of the restaurant amid promises of visits to Sydney, homestays in Korea and vows of learning english/japanese/korean better. Micchan and I bid Lucy goodbye and legged it to the JR station in time for the last trains where I kissed him chastely on the cheek and prompty fell asleep on a young british man who woke me up in time for Akabane. I thanked him immediately in the order that came to mind.

"Kamsahamnida... uhm I mean.... Arrigato.... oops oh you're british aren't you? Thanks"

Advertisement



31st August 2008

Go Tablo!
Oh Leah, You saw Tablo, wow! Don't tell me that you didn't get his autograph. I read this story out to Patra and she's reading right now of your others too. And then we had a short reserch of Tablo because Patra dosen't know about him. We were laughing like a crazy people. I even cried when I read last bit. You know what you should seriousely think about to becomce a writer. It's all about fun and smart. I feel like to read all of your stories. I miss you Leah and I can't wait to see you in Sydney. Take care. An young. Erin

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb