Day 0, 1, 2 : Prepare, Depart, Arrive


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Omiya
March 13th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 0: Night before Departure
> Jon bought me 4 slices of cheesecake and a WHOLE cheesecake at Cheesecake Factory, when Cheesecake Factory was already CLOSED. Wow.
> I e-checked in for my flight.
> Mom packed all my things into the suitcases, as I put down everything I THOUGHT I will need. My largest suitcase breaks, but still useable. Tip: Pack early. Have a backup suitcase.

Day 1: Departure
> Jon loaded his car with my 3 suitcases. I wore my backpack.
> Jon drove me to IHop to eat breakfast. I ordered fried country steak.
> We went to Jewel to buy me headache medicine.
8:05am Jon drove me to O'Hare airport. I learned how to scan my passport and turn in my luggage.
8:30am I placed my shoes, scarf, jacket, carry-on, bookbag, liquids in quart size bag, and laptop on the security check table.
9:00am I sat at Terminal 2 to wait for boarding. The boarding people only ask for boarding ticket slips.
10:11am Plane left for Detroit. I slept.
1pm Plane arrived at Detroit. I call Jon from a payphone.
1:20pm I board the plane.
2:15pm Plane left for Tokyo (16 hours). I befriend the passenger next to me, Natalie. Dinner was a salad, oreo cookies, chicken teriyaki w/white rice, and water. I starved a few hours later. Mid-snack was a ham and cheese sandwiches (I ate 2). I ate 2 bags of pretzels. I still starved a few hours later. Breakfast was fried rice w/teriyaki chicken, fruit, orange juice, and water. I slept A LOT, read some Japanese and school preparations, watched Twilight, and walked around. Tip: Bring LOTS of snacks. (YOU STARVE.) Travel pillow is useless. Just fold the pillow they give you.

Day 2: Arrival
3:53pm Plane arrived at Narita Airport. Natalie went to the immigration line. I follow the people who were obviously carrying Japanese passports. The airport people scan my passport. I pick up my luggages with a cart. They were HEAVY. Natalie and I exchanged phone numers & e-mail addresses. We split, and I continued my journey. I turned in my "customs" card that I filled out to security.
4:15pm I pushed my cart following the "Bus" arrows.
4:30pm I found the payphones. I didn't know how to use my cellphone and the SIM card yet. I had no 100 Yen coins or any coins...or a calling card. TIP: Bring Yen in COINS.
4:45pm I find a sign that helped me call using my credit card. I call Jon and my house. I walk to the bus ticket booth and order the Oomiya station destination using the Keisei bus. Ticket lady knew very little English, but she understood, "time of next departure," "pay by credit card," and "arrival time," which was all I needed.
5:15pm I call Aimi through the payphone. She's been trying to call me. Tip: Learn how to use your cellphone when going abroad.
5:35pm It's hard having the looks of a Japanese. Everyone assumes you can speak and understand Japanese. Bus guy knew near zero English. He knew the phrase, "I'm sorry. You may only choose 1 luggage." Note: The bus will only carry 1 luggage underneath the bus. I had a hard time carrying my bookbag, jackets, and 2 suitcases in the bus, but the Japanese passengers were very kind to help me carry my suitcases in the bus. People are very different compared to Chicago. I board on the Keisei bus to Oomiya station. Tip: Carry hand sanitizer with you. The bus toilet doesn't provide soap to wash your hands.
7:45pm I fell asleep on the bus and missed Aimi's phone call. The bus was supposed to arrive 7:20pm. I was late. Aimi called me again but I didn't answer the phone on time. I couldn't call her... then Aimi and Ate Reci sees me. 😊
> We take the JR train to Warabi station. My suitcases were HEAVY! Aimi and Ate Reci so kindly helps me. We leave the suitcases at their apartment.
> We ate at a restaurant nearby and go to a convenience store. Many stores and restaurants are 24 hours open. Everything that I need is here!! Even the English medicines and Colgate! Tip: Do NOT pack a lot. You can buy them all here. Ate Reci's Tip: Ship your luggage to Japan first. Then, travel by plane with only a carry-on. Tip: A good suvenior is a book from your city with lots of pictures...like a Chicago book.
> We're back at the apartment. Note: Make sure to have warm slippers with you.

During this short time, Jon bought a calling card and called me a few times. I love you! We talked. 😊

Upcoming
Monday, Ate Reci will help me get my Koseki Fuhyo on at Okegawa City Hall.
Tuesday, Ate Reci said she will help me buy a $10 electronic dictionary that gives me English, Japanese, Tagalog, Chinese, etc. that has translations, phrases, speaking sounds, etc.

Advertisement



13th March 2009

"I starved a few hours later" Hahaha...no more gigantic meals from your mom...! Hahaha...what's wrong with the pillow??? no soap... OHHHHH MY GOSH!!! Electronic dictionary that has all that for only 10$??? That's crazy. I wish I could get one.... But yeah, it would have been good to just ship everything and then just go since you're staying with family. >_> If you were elsewhere, then take it on the plane... But isn't it expensive to ship everything???
14th March 2009

electronic dictionary
for $10!?!? unbereevavul!!! lol. that's so cool.
14th March 2009

fellow ciee student
This is extremely helpful, thanks! Glad your trip was safe~ See you at Orientation. :D
15th March 2009

Yen > Dollar Mistake
It was a mistake. Ate Reci meant $100.
15th March 2009

Thanks
:) I'm glad you read my blog. I'll meet you soon!
18th March 2009

i'm glad you made it there alright! :D traveling alone isnt that bad riight?? :) omg you must have been soooo happy when you found out that there was colgate!! lol
18th March 2009

:) Response to Aimee
lol, traveling alone is not that bad. It's just a bit boring cuz I have no one to talk to. All I do is sleep if I travel alone. Hooray for colgate! But I do like Crest better. I like very minty.

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb