Day Fifty Nine: Under the stars


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ikebukuro
May 24th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Feelin BlueFeelin BlueFeelin Blue

Sanae, Christine and Phoebe at the planetarium
Ooooh Sanae and I went on a double date with the girls from Hong Kong tonight! Yay
We were planning to go to Yokohama but because of the rain decided to take it indoors and check out the planetarium in Ikebukuro instead. Sanae and I got there first and argued the whole way through Sunshine City about which session to go to at the planetarium. I wanted to see Cosmic Collision! A bold and adventurous ride through space with exploding planets and colliding meteorites. Exciting Stuff. Sanae wanted to see the pleasant beach one which promised a relaxing, tropical 40 minutes that would remove you from all the troubles of this world. Sounds nice enough, but where's the explosions? Where's the adrenalin? Where's the Cosmic Collision!? Anyway, our arguments were getting quite heated by the time we reached the elevator and saw the sign advising us that both the sessions we wanted to see were sold out. So much for that, we both deflated instantly and realised we would have to watch the apple tree one. Oh well, we picked up the tickets and went to meet the girls for dinner.
Dinner was hillarious, Sanae decided to be korean for the night and we relied on My, Phoebe and Christines japanese to get us through the set menu. Once ordered we sat down and had the most filthiest conversation known to mankind. I had no idea that girls from Hong Kong could be so dirty minded. It was briliant, and definately not getting repeated online (Hi Mum!)
Then back to the planetarium. The seats were cozy and they'd scented the air with apple to make us really feel like we were under the apple tree, there was quite a bit of talking through it and I understood the following words

- Cambridge
- England
- Harry Potter
- Steven Hawking

So I managed to get the jist of it. There's a lot of apples somewhere in Cambridge, England.

Fascinating. I'm not sure why they're showing this in Japan, but somehow, I liked it, I did end up feeling quite romantic, lying there next to Christine under the stars, but I think that has more to do with the fact that it heavily reminded me of an outdoorsy date I went on earlier this year. Ooooh and I also liked the fact that they showed two horoscope pictures on the sky - Leo (my sign) and Virgo (my sisters) I especially liked it when they re-arranged the star signs on the roof and it looked like the Virgin was either kissing the lions ass or trying to stick her head up it. Haha Squeaky! Sucks to be Virgo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb