Sumos in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Landing in Japan brought with it a completely different perspective on Asia. The trains ran to the second, things were expensive and the advancements they have over there are incredible. I couldn’t have ended the Asian part of my trip in a place more at odds to when I started in Delhi.

Tokyo has everything on offer that you could dream up; dog rentals by the hour, used pants in vending machines and heated toilet seats (a strange mix, I know). The people are also the friendliest that I have met yet and any time I stopped someone for directions they would physically take me to where I wanted to go.

In the 5 days I was in Tokyo there still wasn’t enough time to even see all the different districts, let alone get close to doing all the things on offer. I did manage to see the sumo contest which had just begun and it has been a highlight of the trip so far. It took place in a huge stadium and the crowd cheered all the wrestlers as they tried to psyche each other out. Each wrestle was shorter than I expected, but there are dozens each day and they are vicious! When I bumped in to some sumos strolling past McDonald’s I thought they would be really surly, but they couldn’t wait to have their picture taken.

Onwards to the warmth of Australia now!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb