Akihabra


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akihabara
September 17th 2014
Published: November 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Workers on their daily commuteWorkers on their daily commuteWorkers on their daily commute

I saw many workers dressed very similarly, in particular among men : white shirt, dark pants. This was taken around 8:30 am
In Akihabara, you can find the smallest electronic parts like LEDs to consumer goods made with LEDs to Pachinko parlours and Maid Cafes. For me, staying in Nihonbashi, it was a simple 10 minute walk to the Akihabara area. I found the area to be dominated by video game and Pachinko playing, so much so that I would liken it to Las Vegas for the younger generation. The few stores I stepped inside had coin operated kind of carnival games on the first floor, with the remaining floors above being large screen high definition video games that appeared to be popular.

While you can find Pachinko parlors in many places in Japan, my first exposure to them was in Akihabara. It is simply amazing how loud it is inside. If you stand out on the street with the door closed to a parlor you hear some noise, but once the door opens, that loudness just comes blasting out. I only stopped into one of them, but I believe the story is that you pay money for turns at a Vegas style video game upon which you can win points that can be exchanged for prizes. I tried my hand with ¥
YodobashiYodobashiYodobashi

Many floors of shpping inside. I didn't visit this one, but did visit one in Kyoto. About anything you could possibly need could be found for sale inside.
1000, and that was quickly exhausted. I did try to take a photo of one of the machines up close, but when an attendant saw me doing so, asked me not to take a photo of any of their machines.

I got to the area just as it was opening, and while I left the area before 11am or so, I think I may have left before much of the area got into full swing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Inside of Pachinko ParlorInside of Pachinko Parlor
Inside of Pachinko Parlor

It had just opened for the day


Maid CafeMaid Cafe
Maid Cafe

Looks like they have things going on on floors 4, 5, and 6. I didn't stop in to check them out, but should have.




Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb