Climbing Mount Fuji


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka » Mt Fuji
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Station 5Station 5Station 5

You can drive or take a bus to this station. It was loaded with day trippers and hikers already finished. You sure could tell the difference between hikers who had just finished and hikes who were just starting.... hehe...
Well, I officially conquered Japan by climbing the 3,776 meters of Mount Fuji! Definitely a checkmark off my “To Do Life List”. Ask me now and I would recommend the hike, I think it was the most amazing (and most difficult) thing I’ve ever done. Ask me ¾ way up the mountain and I would have probably called myself crazy and questioned every decision to hike 9 hours up a mountain. My favorite part was seeing myself standing above the cloudline. Also, sleeping in "bunk beds" made for 20 people. I now know how sardines feel. Literally... There were 11 of us, mostly foreigners from America, and the Other 8 Japanese people sleeping in the bunk with us were not too happy the "fat foreigners" were taking up so much space. Ha ha ha.... I feel like I've found a new hobby, and can't wait for my next mountain in the next country to conquer! Yeah me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ascending trailascending trail
ascending trail

You can see the diagonal trail. It was quite an easy trek to Station 8. Then it got difficult..
These guys were hilariousThese guys were hilarious
These guys were hilarious

They kept encouraging us to move on, MOVE ON!! (you can see how rocky the trail is getting)
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Reflected sunset from west side, we were on east side for sunrise


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb