Hip Hop Japan - performing!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
November 16th 2008
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bounce BackBounce BackBounce Back

WIth SUr-Z Sensei in front
I joined a dancing group here in June, called Bounce Back. I'm not sure if i've already mentioned it or not, but there is news here if I have. We had a PERFORMANCE! Scary stuff. I'm not new to dancing by any means...I have danced for most of my life, and have experience in ballet, contemporary, jazz, tap, ballroom, salsa, merengue, cha cha, tango...the list goes on.

None of that really prepared me for hip hop. I guess it did in that I can pick up steps more easily than a newbie to dancing of any kind...but the movements in hip hop are so foreign to anything I had done. I can wiggle my hips, shimmy and shake, but the sharp repetitive movements of torso, abs, and the amount you use your quads I was unprepared for. I think I can do it passably now, but in the beginning, I think I must have looked like a chicken trying to rhumba...yeah. Exactly.

I saw a lot of younger kids doing it here in my city, and found out that in a neighbouring town there was a teacher who taught for people over the age of 10....but not by much!

I met Sur-Z, signed up, and now train with her once a week. It's fun to get in there and do it - once you get past the push ups, sit ups and sadist stretching most instructors put you through. To get through it I just focus on how much good it is doing me, and forget about how much pain i'll be in the following day. The old adage no pain no gain is still in full force ladies and gentlemen!

It's a lot of fun, it's hugh energy, and if I keep at it, maybe i'll look less like a chicken, and more like an actual, real life, hip hop dancer!

xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MOST AWESOME LITTLE DANCER EVER!MOST AWESOME LITTLE DANCER EVER!
MOST AWESOME LITTLE DANCER EVER!

Seriously, this girl blew be away. Better than club dancers back home. And she's what? 9 years old?


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.049s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb