Day 177: The Bringer of Natural Disaster


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama
September 21st 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Bringer of Natural DisastersThe Bringer of Natural DisastersThe Bringer of Natural Disasters

....conjuring up a storm....
The earthquake woke everyone in our little flat up, the shifting of the bed, the rattling of the mirror and the sharp intake of breath from Kizzy lying on the bed next to me means that it was at least a magnitude four. I rolled over on the small lounge and faced my longtime friend from Australia. She was lying on her back with her eyes fixed on the ceiling, a familiar vague look of terror forming silently in her eyes.

"Earthquake" I muttered, my voice thick with sleep.

"Oh" she replied, darting me a look "I thought you were shaking the bed" and thus comforted by the knowledge that it was not me causing her sleep disturbance, but in fact a natural disaster, she rolled over and fell once more into an enviable slumber.

It's not so bad being awake at 7:30 in the morning, I guess. I've brought the laptop into the kitchen and I'm sitting on the floor typing with one hand and spooning whipped cream and pudding into my mouth with the other. A quick peek outside has shown me that the typhoon seems to have passed from yesterday so my plans of Haraujuku and natuical themed restaurants in Kabukicho will come to fruition after all.

Hmmm... It is going to be a long day today. Maybe I should try to get some more sleep? Another delicious spoonful of pudding is working to send me off to sleep and I think I'm about ready to crawl back into bed next to Kieryn (the apparent bringer of natural diasters) and try to get some sleep. I just fear what lies in store for me when I wake up, Kizzys first day here brought with it a typhoon, second day; an earthquake. What will come tomorrow? A drought? A freak snow storm? I can hear her muttering and twisting around in the bed. Perhaps she's conjuring up a tornado.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb