International Kids Are Cool


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Hirakata
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dorm RoomDorm RoomDorm Room

Not your typical dorm room - but it's quite cozy and almost exactly what you'd expect out of a dorm room in Japan. There are three of us sharing a room - I'm the outsider because I leave Sunday and the other two girls stay...
Hi... so, I'm at school... it's really a nice place. The campus is very nicely sized and the facilities are excellent. The dorms are cool... there are tatami mats and shoji doors... no ofuro though... hehe, public ofuro - that might be a little weird/gross. I got myself a cell phone... international rates are really high, but incoming calls are free - so if you want to talk, sorry you gotta call me! It's still really cold, I don't think it'll let up anytime soon. It's about a 20 minute walk from the dorms to campus, I think I dread that the most out of anything.

I found out some information on my host family. They are a family of four and a half - dad, mom, sister, brother, dog. Kind of excited for the dog. =) They live about 40 minutes or so away by means of walking, catching a train and a bus. I hope that commuting doesn't make me too tired. But I'm really excited to meet them - I get to meet them this Sunday.

So far, orientation has been pretty boring... there are a lot of gaps with nothing to do. But on the
Front of CampusFront of CampusFront of Campus

This is the front of campus, to the right you can see the International School... beyond all the international flags.
bright side, I've been making some friends with International students. Tonight I had dinner with a "fellow American", an Ecuadorian, a British and an Indonesian. Now I'm realizing how much I'm missing out on by not being well traveled. Talking to them really makes me want to travel. Before I was happy with not traveling more east than Nevada and only going to two countries outside of the US. But now, I'm just blown away at how much I was missing!! Most of my companions were rather well traveled and I was just taking in all their experiences and what they had to say about their homeland. SOOO INTERESTING!!

Anyway, school starts on Monday, but I don't think my schedule is all that tough. Only four classes and no afternoon class on Tues, Thurs and Fri. SWEET! =) Well, that's all for now - I really just wanted to say how cool it is to meet international students. Please take care all and enjoy the rest of your January!!

Advertisement



26th January 2006

i think this title line is pointless...
hey! so, you finally know what it's like to walk 20 minutes in the cold to get to class. that's what a REAL CAMPUS is like! =p glad to hear you're having a great time. btw... out of all the things you're excited about, you're most excited about meeting the host family dog? =p j/k! take it easy. i guess i'll call you.
26th January 2006

Booger
Hey, you should make lots of international friends so you can travel and have a palce to stay! As for that walk, I think it took you about 20 minutes to get to campus as UOP anyway. :)
27th January 2006

wow...i like your dorm room its kinda cute :3 ...i don't remember but are u going to be staying at the dorms? hehe ..i'm so forgetful >_<
27th January 2006

Settling In
DANG... it's gonna take you 40 minutes to get to school?! Oh man.. just watch, I'm gonna get lucky like you and prolly score a 90 minute commute :) You got a cell phone though so that is good. What kind did you get and what's your plan? I'm still trying to figure out what to do about the whole phone thing. Anyways, when you get a chance, let me know what your number is so I can call you when I get to the land of Godzilla. K.. bye for now and good luck with settling in!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb