Scuba Diving - Bolo North


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
May 16th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

AnemonefishAnemonefishAnemonefish

This is a baby anemonefish

Scuba Diving - Bolo North



Josh, Edwin, and I went to Bolo North for our second dive. I got to see several interesting things that I'd never seen before while underwater.

The first was a nudibranch, or sea slug, that was yellow, white, and black and about the length of my thumb. I managed to get up extremely close to it so that I could use the macro function on my camera. After a bit of research I have been able to determine that I was observing an Chromodoris magnifica.

For more info on nudibranches:
http://www.medslugs.de/E/mssmain.htm
http://www.seaslugforum.net/
http://www.sergeyphoto.com/underwater/nudibranchs.html

The next interesting wildlife that I was into contact was with a pair of shell-less hermit crabs or something of that nature. I was busy snapping photos of an anemone fish during my safety stop when I happened to look down and see these two hermit crab like creatures staring back up at me. It actually scared me for a moment because I had to idea what they were and didn't expect to see anything watching me. I also managed to get a few upclose photos of these creatures. Unfortunately, the waves were a bit strong so getting my camera steady was rather difficult....hence, only a few photos of these interesting little creatures.

For more pictures go to: http://picasaweb.google.com/kdupak/16May2009BoloNorth?feat=directlink




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Josh and EdwinJosh and Edwin
Josh and Edwin

Edwin pretending to attack Josh
NudibranchNudibranch
Nudibranch

Chromodoris magnifica


6th September 2009

beautiful pictures. i am also thinking about going to okinawa for diving. do you have any good dive shop to recommend? around how much is it per dive? thanks

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb