Living on Okinawa


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okinawa City, Okinawa Japan 1995Okinawa City, Okinawa Japan 1995Okinawa City, Okinawa Japan 1995

Okinawa City, Open Market.
Have you ever thought what it would be like to live in another country other than your own. For me it was one of the best experiences of my life. Of course I had no idea that that would happen to me, and I didn't do it in the usual way. It was during the Vietnam war and I had joined the United States Marine Corps at the tender age of seventeen. It would be a year and a half later when I ended up in Vietnam as an infantry squad leader with the First Marine Division.

On my way to Vietnam I had to stop off on the island of Okinawa. Before joining the Marines I had never heard of the place. I learned about it the first time during basic training (Boot Camp) during our military history classes. I learned that it was a small island that had taken a real beating during World War Two. Little did I know at the time that this island would have such an impact on my life.

When we landed on Okinawa it would be our last stop to get shots, new uniforms for jungle figthing and some indoctrination on Vietnam, the war, and the customs and people of Vietnam. To make a long story short I lasted nine months in Vietnam and was wounded twice and medivaced back to Kuwi Army hospital on Okinawa where I would recuperate and spend the next twenty months there. While there I met a beautiful Okinawan Lady who today after thirty seven years has been my wonderful wife. All total through my military career and as a civilian I spent thirteen and a half years living on Okinawa which today I consider my second home. I can say I have a lot of Okinawan family there that my wife and I miss very much. Someday soon we will go home and visit them.

Today we live in a small town in Oklahoma, have two great married adult children, and three beautiful grand daughters. Today in 2009 I can truly see how small the world has become through travel. I find it amazing that even Vietnam has become a tourist destination. You never know what visiting another country will bring into your life.

Okinawa really became my home and I miss walking the streets and visiting freinds and family. Another benefit I got while living there, I learned to speak Japanese which I still use with my wife today. Okinawa while expensive unless you have family there, is still a fasinating place to visit and the Okinawan people are some of the most friendly and kind people you will ever meet.

I still dream of being there often and all the sights, sounds and smells of the island and of course the people.

Advertisement



6th February 2009

Nice to hear
It is very nice to hear that some one has such a love for Okinawa. I too share this passion for the small islands at the bottom of Japan. I put together this guide to try and share more of Okinawa with the world so check it out if you have some time http://www.okinawa-information.com/

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb