Mikang Picking


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
January 11th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mikang Picking



In between church services today I went up north to pick mikang, small oranges. Luckily I didn't run into any banana spiders or habu snakes, although I'm pretty sure there must have been some in the area. Most of the oranges found within reaching level were still unripe so I came to the conclusion that the best tasting ones would be found up high. After climbing to the top of one tree, I came to the conclusion that I was right and I spent the majority of my time climbing trees at the orchard. What would have cost me about $6 at commissary only cost me $2. Not only do I have oranges to eat for the rest of the week, I also got a healthy dose of vitamin C from eating about 5 or 6 oranges.

Mikang organges are about the size of a tennis ball and very sweet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb