Day 06: Naha (Jan 2018)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Okinawa Honto
January 26th 2018
Published: March 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 26th January 2018

Early morning, I headed to the top floor of the Okinawa Prefecture Government Building for a nice view of Naha city. Overlooking the Kenchomae Station area, the view stretches as far as my eyes could see. It was a rainy Friday when I visited and the interior provided a warm respite from the chilly temperatures as a result of the rain. Best of all, there was free admission and I could come and go at my convenience.

After my visit at the observatory, I took a slow 20 minutes walk towards the direction of Naminoue Beach where I literally had the whole place to myself. By then, the rains had already stopped and it was nice to be outdoors when the weather was fine. I headed to the Max Valu supermarket nearby and was pleasantly surprised to see boxes and boxes of fresh strawberries on display. Winter must be the strawberries season in Japan I supposed!

In the afternoon, I headed over to the Umikaji Terrace at Sengajima Island where there was a free shuttle service from the monorail station. Modelled after the Greek Santorini town, this is a rather upmarket dining and shopping destination by the sea. It was nice to be there despite the cold, windy conditions and I managed to capture a few nice shots of planes landing and departing from Naha Airport.

For dinner, I popped over to the nearby Naha Main Place where I had a nice serving of Tokatsu with rice. I always liked shopping at Naha Main Place since it is really convenient and I could normally find what I needed to buy in Okinawa without travelling too far out from the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.377s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 85; dbt: 0.2836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb