Day 02: The Churaumi Aquarium Okinawa (Jan 2018)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Okinawa Honto
January 22nd 2018
Published: February 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 22nd January 2018

I woke up to a happy breakfast spread at the Centurion Vintage Resort. Service was great and food variety consisted mainly Japanese staples along with some Okinawan specialties plus some western selections. I found a nice breakfast spot that commanded an ocean view which started my day on a correct footing.

By 8.30am, I was happily making my way towards the aquarium entrance. The strategy was to enter the aquarium when it was the least crowded. It paid off really well as the crowds were very thin at opening times. There was even an opportunity for me to pose for a free souvenir photo shoot at the main entrance. I made my way slowly across the various tanks and viewing galleries. Of course, the most awesome experience was the massive Kushiro (named after the warm Kushiro Current). This was where the iconic blue tanks are housed and where loads of nice pictures could be taken.

I was more or less done visiting by 11am where I opted for an early taco rice lunch at a small family cafe opposite the Centurion Vintage Resort. After lunch, I took a slow walk along the main road that lead past the huge Orion Resort to the Bise Village area where I was greeted with Fukugi trees on both sides of the avenue. There was also a bullock cart station as well as a charming seaside Churaumi Cafe where I had my dinner that very same evening.

In the afternoon, I even had time to head back to the Dolphin Theatre to be thrilled by the lovely dolphin shows once again. This was followed by some quiet time at the Emerald Beach area to take in more pictures of the evening skies before dinner. I was very impressed by the delicious taco rice which somewhat tasted different from the version that I had for lunch.

It was a great meal to end my idyllic day as I said goodbye to this part of peaceful Okinawa before my afternoon flight tomorrow. Staying 2 nights at the Expo Park area was one of the best travel decisions I made for this trip. It allowed plenty of time for me to take in the sights slowly without having to make a mad rush to the city in the evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb