Day 6: The Kokusaidori Street, Naha


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Naha
January 24th 2013
Published: February 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 24th January 2013

I decided to devote my final day in Okinawa within the confines of Naha City since I had covered the main places of interests that I've allowed for in my travel plans over the past few days.

Starting from my hotel in the morning, I took a walk towards the direction of Naha Bus Station passing by the massive Prefectural Government Building. From there, the Kokusaidori Street was another 5 minutes walk. The Kokusai Street was lined with colourful souvenir shops on both sides and there was even one with a replicate facade of the Shuri Castle.

Along the same street sits the Mitsukoshi Departmental store as well as the OPA Mall with a branch of Tower Records. There were numerous steak houses along the street as well as a huge store devoted to selling the Calbee products.

I walked towards the direction of Makishi Public Market through one of the small alleys. Some shops were selling daily fresh produce while others sold the same line of souvenirs found along the main street. The prices were somewhat lower in the market though.

I took a turn towards the MaxValu supermarket where a huge branch of Daiso was located. This was where I wrapped up my lunch at the Ootoya Restaurant located within the same building.

In the afternoon, I stopped by a few of the quirky places of interests listed in the Yui Rail Guide Book. Most of these places were simply Touch and Go experiences in my opinion. These include the Japan Southmost (Akamine) & Westmost (Naha-kuko) Stations. More interesting was the hike up to the Gokoku Shrine within Onoyama Park since it involved more leg power.

In the evening, I stopped by at the Asato Station to visit the Sakaemachi Town Market. This neighbourhood have a slightly rustic feel thanks to the many old buildings within the vicinity.

For dinner, I opted for the Omu Rice at Naha Main Place to end my Okinawa campaign for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.836s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.7173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb