Scuba Diving - Diamond Beach and Malibu Beach


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Diamond Beach and Malibu Beach



Since today was a holiday, I spent my free time diving. Only two dives today. One at Diamond Beach and another at Malibu Beach. We only saw 1 ray but no sea turtles today; however, there were tons and tons of pufferfish. I had fun trying to catch all of them. I'm pretty sure word has gotten around the fish community that I like to make the pufferfish blow up with water. "Oh no...here comes Kim! Swim away!" There were porcupine pufferfish, blackspotted pufferfish, and black saddled pufferfish. I had never seen porcupine pufferfish huddled together in groups just floating out in the open away from the coral reef so I took a few pictures. I also snapped a rather good photo of an anemonefish. While swimming along there was an overhanging ledge that I decided to take a look under. I saw two tigerfish but only decided to take a picture of one of them because the angle was better. Attached is the photo.

The visibility at Malibu Beach was terrible! I could only see about 10 feet in front of me. Yep...it was kinda creepy. We'd be swimming along and then bang! A huge coral outcropping would be in front of us. Because it was our first time at the site we got a bit lost...woops. When we surfaced, we were about a mile offshore! Luckily, we planned the dive so that the current would bring us back in because it was an incoming tide. We dove back down and then surfaced again about a half mile offshore. I had only about 180 psi in my tank once we finished. Lesson learned...don't get lost and continue diving with an incoming tide. If it had been the other way around that would have been a miserable swim back.

To see all the pictures from the dive, visit: http://s165.photobucket.com/albums/u53/kimdupak/Okinawa/Diamond%20Beach%20-%2001%20Sep%202008/


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd September 2008

Yikes!
Keep planning those incoming tide dives!!!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb