Scuba Diving - Sea Turtles at Onna ToiletBowl


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
August 29th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Sea Turtles at Onna ToiletBowl



I dove this afternoon at Onna ToiletBowl and it was awesome! The tide was coming in so the water looked a bit rough but my dive buddy and I decided to go in anyways, and everything turned out fine. We dove down to between 50' and 60' for the entire time and right before we were about to turn around and head back to the entry point, we saw a sea turtle munching on some of the plantlife found on the coral. Unfortunately, the turtle decided to turn its back to me so most of the video is of its rear end. Nothing comical happened though, unlike the incident my grandmother experienced with a moose who decided to turn its back and take a dump right when she took a picture. After the turtle had a few things to eat, it swam back up to the surface and then disappeared. My dive buddy and I headed back to the entry point and the current took us so it was a nice relaxing swim. We also ran into another sea turtle; however, this one wasn't as close as the other turtle we has see earlier. It was swimming to the surface so we watched it for a bit and then swam on.

Onna ToiletBowl has tons and tons of sea anemone and anemonefish and I took a bunch of pictures since they are very photogenic (that's it anemonefish...work it...work it for the camera). This was the first time that I saw a few anemonefish that were pure white so I took a couple photos. One shot turned out particularily well, and it almost looks like I somehow changed the coloring with photoshop.

Erin is sending me a book that identifies almost all the fish in Okinawa. I am very excited to get the book so I can name everything that I see. It'll be a fun way to learn about all the new kinds of sealife I'm seeing.

To see all the pictures and videos from the dive, visit: http://s165.photobucket.com/albums/u53/kimdupak/Okinawa/Onna%20ToiletBowl%20-%2029%20Aug%202008/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb