Kyoto: Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Zen CuisineZen CuisineZen Cuisine

This is the room where I ate the zen meal. To be honest, I really had to build up some courage to eat what was served. Unfortunately, I didn't know that the food was all vegetable-based until after trying to gobble everything down. This information probably would have been of some comfort had I known ahead of time.
I just got back from a day trip to Kyoto with two teachers from my school. This was a day of many firsts...

1. My first visit to Japanese temples. (When in Japan, why not start it off with a bang?)

2. My first Zen food experience. We went to a beautiful temple and ate a traditional meal that monks would eat. The idea is to serve meals that enables the monks to practice Zen with body and mind. Basically, we had a private room and ate our food on the tatami mat floor.

3. My first visit to a bamboo tree forest.

4. My first bowl of miso soup with clams. Absolutley delicious. I liked it so much that the owner of the restaurant gave me another bowl free of charge. Oh yes, and today I had perhaps the best sushi I have ever tasted. It was barbequed and delicious.

Apparently because Kyoto is considered such a beautiful and sacred place, during the Second World War Americans did not drop bombs on the city and by some small miracle the temples remained intact.

Enjoy the photos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Food fit for a monk...Food fit for a monk...
Food fit for a monk...

... but perhaps not fit for a Hessen.
Family symbolFamily symbol
Family symbol

I was told that these hangings represent family. They were hanging at the entrance of one temple.
The Golden TempleThe Golden Temple
The Golden Temple

I coined the phrase "The Disneyland of temples" for this one. My guides seemed to like the metaphor. This temple was by far the most popular = most "touristy". There were people everywhere, and several opportunities to buy, buy. buy!
Inside a templeInside a temple
Inside a temple

Sorry... I can't remember the name. I just want to get these photos up!
Hopeful wishes...Hopeful wishes...
Hopeful wishes...

This is where young men and women come to pray for their relationship or finding love. From what I understand, men and women write their wishes down and then post them, as seen above. There is also an area where they can pray for this. As you might expect, I saw a lot of young adults here. If I were an entrepreneur, I would open up a bar nearby.
Washing HandsWashing Hands
Washing Hands

Cleanliness seems to be a really big thing in Japan. Before entering our first temple, we washed our hands at this basin.
Reading my fortune...Reading my fortune...
Reading my fortune...

Apparently I should have good luck, but then maybe they are just saying that so that I don't jump ship. (Of course, just kidding).


14th September 2006

hiiii!!!
Your photos are great - it sounds like you're having a wonderful time already. Glad I could see you before you left. Love ya!
16th September 2006

Kyoto - wihses for happiness
What an amazing experience for you Hessen! So fun to see where you're going and what is impacting you... Joel told me when he was in Taiwan that young adults take the name of the person they wish to marry to a temple and turn a special stone, yes or no, to confirm the gods' pleasure. He said they keep coming back and turning the stone until it registers "yes." Interesting stuff... a suggestion for your entrepreneurial thoughts - what could you possibly offer in Canadian cuisine that would be enjoyed there?
16th September 2006

Wow
Hi Hessen, you seem to be having a very good time. These pictures are great. The food does look a little bit different, even for me (and I'll eat just about anything). Based on the pictures, this place appears to be picturesque, and most serene. Now, I want to go to Japan. Keep the blogs coming. Love it later Dave
27th September 2006

Communication
Great way to lets us know about Japan.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb